Thankful Thursday: For My Man.

All too often, no matter how far his efforts go, I never seem to be satisfied with my husband’s attempts to make my life easier. Instead, I am in the habit of criticizing every little thing he does, or does not do, that “hurts my feelings.” Really, they’re just things that make me pout and pity myself for not marrying Mr. Perfect.

Over the last few months, I find myself being tapped on the shoulder by the Holy Spirit whenever this critical spirit rises up in me. For every critical thought that pops up, at least ten images of Levi’s consideration and love flash in front of my mind’s eye. So, today, I am dedicating my thankful post to my imperfectly wonderful husband.

I am thankful I married a man…

…who really does love and accept me unconditionally. Whenever I ask him if I annoy him, his response has always been “How could you annoy me?” And he means it.

…who is honest. I can always count on Levi to be a truth-teller, even when it hurts.

…who almost never criticizes me, though I deserve it pretty often!

…who can make me laugh so hard, I cry.

…who listens to my endless ramblings, even if most of it goes in one ear and out the other. He shuts up and lets me talk as long as I need to, about whatever I need to.

…who rarely puts on his “fix-it” hat when what I really need is a shoulder.

…who is truly my very best friend. There is nothing I cannot talk to him about. Even if he doesn’t understand, he makes it clear that he will always be around.

…who is the personification of loyalty. I have never, without exception, met anyone as fiercely loyal as Levi. He is a man who keeps his word, no matter what.

…who believes in marriage.

…who loves his kids. He plays with them everyday, and makes sure each one of them get hugs, kisses, and an “I love you” before he leaves the house. Even if he’s just running around the corner to the store.

…who knows how to make some seriously good pizza dough.

…who holds me close.

…who has learned to empty AND load the dishwasher. There is nothing sexier than a man who can do dishes!

…who supports my birth junkie status, and loves that I’ve found a niche for myself like this, and doesn’t complain when I have to go to a birth or teach a class. He’s my armchair doula, too.

…who knows what it means to be a good provider. He’s a man who puts bread on the table, and is always around to eat it with us.

…who has his own way of being romantic.

…who is intelligent, funny, unique, stubborn, Godly, 100% real, open, manly, geeky, wise, and good.

Levi, I really do thank God for you everyday of my life, and I would marry you all over again if you asked me to. I wouldn’t change a thing about you, even if I could. I accept you and love you for who God made you to be, and I don’t ever want you to doubt that. Words aren’t much, I know, but they’re a start. Forgive me for being less than grateful for you, and for being too quick to criticize your love for me. You are my man, and you always will be. I look up to you and respect you more everyday – may I live in such a way that you never doubt that again.

I know I tell you all the time that you’re lucky I love you, but I really think it’s the other way around. I’m lucky you love me.

For more thankful posts, visit October’s host, at Spiritually Unequal Marriage.

6 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: For My Man.

  1. Girl,

    This is the most beautiful post and you KNOW I love to read praises about our husbands. Neat. Happy TT. Once again and thank you for your contribution to this week’s TT post. Hugs.

    Like

  2. Love this Tiff. I often wish I was better at remembering just how amazing and great my husband it. I seem better able to complain and nag most days sadly. Thanks for a wonderful reminder.

    Like

  3. Awe, you brought tears to my eyes. What a wonderful tribute to your hubby. I, also, fall into the trap of looking at all the things my husband does imperfectly, instead of remembering what a wonderful, Godly man my hubby truly is. Thank you for the reminder that I’m truly blessed:)

    Like

  4. God has blessed you Tiff but then maybe its because you are so deserving of being blessed, none of us are perfect but if we were there would not be anything that the Lord could watch us
    grow and handle and judge us by. He loves watching us learn just like we loved watching our children learn We are all imperfect but he wants us to learn to be Thankful for all the blessings he has given us and learn to grow and be responsible and Thankful even in the hard imperfect times when we fail or our spouse fails the Lord knows and watches how we handle these things . As we love and watch our children we must always remember they were given to us to learn how to be good people to love one another and most of all to forgive, if you cant forgive you are not living a Life the Lord wants as forgiveness is what he does with us everyday, Your post was wonderful God Bless your family.

    Like

Comments are closed.