Topic 5: To Know Everything Again.

Today’s topic, from Erica’s 30 More thing is a question: If you could re-live one year of your life, without making any changes to it, which year would you choose?

That’s a meaty one, and one I’ve never really considered. There are several years of my life memorable and special enough that I wouldn’t mind repeating. I don’t know that I’d leave everything unchanged, though. For example, I wouldn’t mind re-living the first year of Durin’s life, so I could take back all those times I let that poor sweet boy cry himself to sleep everyday. I would gladly trade my full nights of sleep for more time with him in my arms.

However, re-living a year of my life without changing a thing? That’s quite a bit different.

I think I might re-live the year before I got married. That would be the year 2000. The last year in which I still knew everything. I had an amazing group of friends – Big Tiff, Kris, Naaman, Meaghan, Dave-O and Dave-R, Becci, Becky, Dan, Levi, and others.

It was a year full of college life, unexpected romance, Mountain Dew, working retail, rosy horizons, Denny’s, Applebees, really late nights, Monty Python, sand volleyball, and a fantastic New Year’s Eve party! (Sing with me! It’s the end of the world as we know it, and I FEEL FIIIIIINE!)

I even managed to get myself engaged, and figure out that being a high school teacher was not something I was cut out for. I had no idea what I was cut out for, exactly, but I was okay taking more time to figure that out before I spent copious amounts of cash I did not have for something I was unsure about.

I learned that year that it’s okay not to have your life meticulously planned out. It’s okay to drop out of college if you don’t know what you want out of it yet.

I hadn’t yet learned that I didn’t know everything, though. The evidence was there. I just ignored it. We all do.

I don’t have one single negative recollection of that year. I have too many good ones to count. Knowing everything has its benefits. It makes life all rainbows, sunshine, and unicorns.

Reality crashes in soon enough, and it often hurts like H-E-double-hockey-sticks.

So, enjoy knowing everything while you still can. You’ll learn soon enough that you do not. And trust me, even if you can acknowledge that you don’t know everything, you will still live and act as though you do. It’s an unavoidable fact of life.

When reality inevitably hits, you’ll learn that Mom & Dad pretty much knew what they were talking about all along. This opens up a whole new teachable phase of your life that is much harder, but far more rewarding. Still, I can’t help but think, sometimes, that it would be nice to live like I know everything one more time.

Then, I wake up, and appreciate the life I live now. An incredible mix of the known and unknown. It’s beautiful here.

Come to think of it, I’d much rather stay here.

  • What do you think? What year would you re-live without changing? Or would you?
2 thoughts on “Topic 5: To Know Everything Again.

Comments are closed.