Thankful Thursday: Keep Pursuing.

This week, I am thankful for the quiet times I have managed to spend in God’s Word. Believe me, with this being an area of my life in which I am sadly lacking self-discipline, having a measly three days in a row (so far) in which I cracked open the Bible and digested what I read there has already begun changing me.

I have worked so hard for years, trying and failing, trying and failing, trying and failing again. Sometimes, I tried for legalistic reasons. Sometimes, I tried because I have lived with and without that still, small voice each day; I can tell you, from personal experience, that the days lived with it are far better, even if they turn out more difficult.

In light of this, I am thankful this week for a few verses in Psalm 19 that have grabbed my attention in a way no verse has in awhile.

“The law of the LORD is perfect, reviving the soul.
The statutes of the LORD are trustworthy, making wise the simple.
The precepts of the LORD are right, giving joy to the heart.
The commands of the LORD are radiant, giving light to the eyes.
The fear of the LORD is pure, enduring forever.
The ordinances of the LORD are sure and altogether righteous.

~Psalm 19:7-9 (NIV)

I have a feeling I’ll be spending at least a week digging into these, and asking God what exactly it is he is saying to me, personally, through these words.

On the immediate surface, I know exactly what He’s saying to me: “Keep reading, Tiff. Keep reading. My Words do not come back void, but are shaping and molding you into a creature fit for Heaven and my Presence. Keep pursuing. Run hard after me, and know that my Words will sustain you and give you what you need to run your Race.”

Now, to mine for gold. I can’t WAIT to know more…I am hungry in a way I haven’t been in awhile. Discovering, once again, that the Bible has a way of bringing satisfaction to my cravings, yet still making me long for more is exhilarating!

In addition, I am thankful…

…for the ability to stay home and school my children, even though I’m not that good at it.

…that good enough is good enough.

…for godly, encouraging music.

…for books to get lost in.

…that I am needed by so many people, and that I’m available to help the ones most dear to me.

…for whoever invented the Ghiradelli chocolate and raspberry squares.

…for the friend who pays me in chocolate to watch her kids. She knows I’d do it for free, but she always lets me know that she appreciates me, and it does feel so good to be appreciated sincerely.

…for the temperatures finally feeling fall-ish.

…for the word “autumn.”

…for fairy tales, and the little ones who believe in them and love them.

…for Cuteness’ words this morning: “Since the whole world is wide open, we can run around all we want!” Such a wonderful reminder of how big our world is, and how little of it I have seen.

I hope you enjoyed today’s post. If you want to read more, Iris is hosting today.

4 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: Keep Pursuing.

  1. His Word indeed is ever shaping and ever changing out lives. I need to read it to hide His Word for the tough moments of the day.
    I am glad that you are able to home-school your children – what a blessing indeed.

    Thank you for sharing your grateful heart with us.

    Love & peace,
    < Iris

    Like

  2. Pingback: Grace Alone… » Blog Archive » Thankful Thursday ~ Vacation

Comments are closed.