Thankful Thursday: Hope and a Smile

Another week, come and gone. Another Christmas, celebrated and enjoyed. Another New Year looms ahead.

The future is on my mind this week, but worry is not. Not today, anyway. When it comes again, as it most certainly will; I can turn to Jesus and lay it at His feet in return for peace. In the meantime, I will focus on what I have to be thankful for.

As I look forward, to the New Year, I am thankful…

…that I can forget what is behind me, especially my failings, and move on to whatever is next in this race I am running.

“Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”
~Philippians 3:12-14 (NIV – emphasis mine)

…that I will never be alone in this walk of mine.

“…Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.“So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”
~Hebrews 13:5b-6 (NIV – click HERE for context, emphasis mine)

…that there is no condemnation that has the power to bring me down.

“Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death.”
~Romans 8:1 & 2 (NIV – emphasis mine)

…that ALL things will work together for my ultimate good, and to glorify Him Who Saved Me.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”
~Romans 8:28 (NIV -emphasis mine)

…that anything this world (and the enemy) can throw at me is light and momentary, not worth one breath of anxiety, because what awaits me, in the end, will triumph thoroughly over any troubles here.

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”
~2 Corinthians 4:16-18 (NIV – emphasis mine)

…that God’s plans for my life give me hope, and something to live for.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”
~Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV – emphasis mine)

I am thankful that the New Year finds me looking forward with eagerness and hope, my eyes on Jesus, the author and finisher of my faith. I am thankful I serve a God who is real, is good, and loves me more deeply than I could ever speak or imagine. I am thankful for His goodness. Without it, He would not really be God – He would be no better than a man. I am thankful that I am His, bought with a price.

“Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”
~Hebrews 12:2 (NIV – emphasis mine)

I am thankful that I am the joy that was set before Him – that it was for me He died.

And God has a “No Returns” policy. My future is secure in Him. Not because I have done a thing to earn it, but because He did everything to earn it on my behalf.

“For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”
~Romans 8:38-39 (NIV)

I cannot be separated from the love of God. Awesome. If I had nothing else but Him, I would be content. It feels so good to be able to say that truthfully. His love is enough – and because of that Love, I look forward to 2011 with hope and a smile.

Be sure to visit Iris at Grace Alone if you would like to read more Thankful posts. Next month, our hostess will be Lynn at Spiritually Unequal Marriage. Click the button at the top of this post to get the code.

What are you thankful for this week?

10 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: Hope and a Smile

  1. Awesome, awesome, AWESOME post!!!! SO many incredible things to be thankful for!! AMEN.

    As for your comment about our Jesse Tree, we started late this year, too. We had to do a minimum of 2 readings/ornaments each day in order to end the day we opened our presents. But it was good. And next year we’ll start on time!

    Ann Voskamp offers a WONDERFUL (and FREE!!) printable devotional book that we adopted for our Jesse Tree “journey.” We really liked it. Some of her wording is a bit cumbersome at times — both for reading aloud and for little ones to follow and comprehend — but mostly we were very happy with it.

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. Great post! Your last line is so true! “His love is enough – and because of that Love, I look forward to 2011 with hope and a smile.” Love it!

    Happy Thankful Thursday!

    Like

  3. Wonderful post! I love all the scriptures you used. I am so glad tht we are to forget what’s behind and press on!

    No use spending time wallowing with regret …

    Like

  4. You’re so SWEET to have come by my blog…It wared my heart,,THANKs Sweetie…LOVE your post and, its such a JOY to my heart that God has blessed me with such special ladies like you, visiting my blogs…May God continue to bless you in this New Year as you call on Him~~~Hugs Dena

    Like

  5. WOW…truly awesome post…How could we ever NOT be thankful for all that He is and all that He’s done for us, because He loved us that much?!
    Triumphant living…one day at a time with Jesus in our sights! Thank you for capturing it all, Most powerfully!
    Happy New Years!
    Julie

    Like

Comments are closed.