Topic 15: Moments Frozen in Time

“Some songs bring us back to a moment….Share with us a song and the moment it reminds you of.”

The song “Every Moment”, by DeGarmo & Key (an 80’s Christian band), is one I grew up with. This song takes me back to Sunday drives after church with my sisters and my parents. I still remember the “llama place,” the mountains, the fields, and the little rivers that flashed past the car window. I remember listening to Mom & Dad just talk in the front seats. I remember singing goofy songs together, and I remember singing along to songs like this in our tape player. It takes me back to my very happy childhood, and those little, daily memories that form the foundation of love our family is built on.

It always reminds me that this is the same kind of legacy I want to leave for my children. BIG things are alright, but its the snapshots of love, in everyday life, that I want my kids to remember. I want them to remember me smiling and joyful when they look back on their childhood. I want to make a difference in the lives of my children, in the hopes that they’ll go out and make a difference in the world around them. This song takes me there.

My favorite part is the second verse:

“Everybody wants to be remembered,
for something good, kindness they’ve shown.
I want to help this world to find the answer.
No one ever has to walk alone.
When my time is over, I’ll be satisfied.
I thank God for the good times,
every moment of my life.”

Another song I can think of (but cannot, for the life of me, find a place where you can listen to it), is “Wonderful” by Bleach. It takes me back to a moment not long before Levi proposed to me, in 2000. Levi and I, along with a bunch of his family and a friend or two, drove up to George, WA to attend Creation 2000. On the way back, everyone fell asleep during my turn at the wheel. Bleach was playing in our CD player. “Wonderful” began playing, and about halfway through it, I felt a hand reach over and hold mine. I looked at Levi, who was next to me in the passenger seat, and he was looking at me through half-closed, sleepy eyes, and smiling at me.

“This is how I feel about you,” he said.

I smiled back, and paid attention to the lyrics, and tried not to cry, since I was driving. Needless to say, it takes me back to our “twitter-pated” days.

I remember it like it was yesterday. It became our recessional song for our wedding. This is the only thing I could find that gives you an idea of the sound: Click HERE.

Here are the lyrics:

As we walk hand in hand, she holds me tightly, cause she’s my girl.
As we walk hand in hand, she smiles so brightly, cause I’m her guy.
As we walk hand in hand, we’ll help each other, this love’s so true.
As we walk hand in hand, He loves us dearly, this three’s now one.

It’s wonderful, so wonderful.
It’s wonderful, so wonderful.

As we walk hand in hand, I feel a joy come over me.
As we walk hand in hand, I know we’re where God wants us to be.
As we walk hand in hand, she’s thinking of me, wherever she goes.
As we walk hand in hand, I whisper softly, what she already knows.

It’s wonderful, so wonderful.
It’s wonderful, so wonderful.

It’s wonderful, so wonderful.
It’s wonderful, so wonderful.

I thank you lord for all you’ve done.
You gave it all, you gave your Son.
And now you’ve given me this girl.
It’s wonderful.

As we walk hand in hand, she holds me tightly, cause she’s my girl.
As we walk hand in hand, she smiles so brightly, cause I’m her guy.
As we walk hand in hand, we’ll help each other, this love’s so true.
As we walk hand in hand, He loves us dearly, this three’s now one.

What about you? Is there a song that takes you back? Where to?

2 thoughts on “Topic 15: Moments Frozen in Time

Comments are closed.