Thankful Thursday: JOY!

Just two more days until Christmas, and there is so much to be thankful for this week. I find myself editing pictures from this month, and marveling at all the flat-out joy each snapshot represents. We are a blessed family, not because we have earned it in anyway, but because the God we serve can’t help Himself. He loves us, His children, so much, that He cannot help but give good gifts to us. He loved us first, and because of that, I cannot help but love Him back!

This week, I thank God for all the joy I find in such seemingly insignificant places in my life, like getting together with friends for a cookie-decorating party. This is something I hope to make a yearly ritual. I went home so happy and warm.

I am thankful for the joy of anticipation, waiting for a Christmas light parade to start. It was clear, cold, and oh-so-exciting! Hot chocolate in hand, being surrounded by very friendly strangers, and the contagious, bright enthusiasm of my kids brought tears to my eyes.

I am thankful for the joy and blessing of true friendship and girl dates. Erica and I got to go to the Melting Pot for her birthday this last weekend, and who can top cheese, chocolate, and yummy drinks with one of the most fun-loving, loyal, empathetic women I have ever met? You’d be hard-pressed to find anything better.

I am thankful for the joy of watching a real Daddy loving on his kids just by doing something with them. Nothing makes this momma’s heart more grateful than seeing the man I love, love on our children. He’s always around, and the kids hate seeing him go to work.

I am thankful for the joy of watching a baby grow, develop, and have the time of her life doing it! There is so much personality in my niece, that she pretty much just explodes joy all over the place! She adores her cousins, and her love is not unrequited. They can’t seem to get enough of each other.

These images only capture moments of joy – but I have to say that joy is woven deeply and intricately all throughout each one of my days. If it were not so, I would tell you. Yes, I struggle a lot, trying to keep things in balance, but joy permeates even the struggles! Nothing is in vain. Hope is always a sturdy foundation to build on, and joy is the spoonful of sugar that makes the medicine go down smoothly – if I may borrow a Mary Poppins-ism!

This week, I am thankful that the joy of Yahweh is my strength!

For more thankful posts, visit Iris at Grace Alone. Click the button at the top of my post to get the button code.

What are you thankful for this week? What moments have brought you joy?

11 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: JOY!

  1. Well, I have to agree with everyone else…beautiful post!

    And so heartwarming to see the love you all have for one another. You truly are blessed.

    Merry Christmas!
    Marsha

    Like

Comments are closed.