Thankful Thursday

This week, as we come down to just nine days before Christmas, I find myself so thankful for a lot of little things. I also find myself easily distracted from a grateful attitude, as several little things, and some not so little, go wrong. It’s so hard to fight the urge to complain about the ways people have hurt me this week, and some would say I have the right to complain. However, God says otherwise:

“Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe as you hold out the word of life–in order that I may boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor for nothing.” ~Philippians 2:14-16 (NIV)

So in the interest of “shining like a star,” instead of being a total grump, I choose gratitude today.

This week, I have been thankful…

…that it has been pretty easy to stay under-budget for Christmas this year. Keeping Christmas simple definitely helps make this time of year one of peace and joy, instead of stress.

…for getting to spend a whole, entire day with Levi all to myself. Christmas shopping together for our kids on a gorgeous, anti-winter, 60-degree, sunshiney day was glorious!

…for our lovely Christmas tree, and the delight it brings to my kids.

…for the Post Office Click-n-Ship feature, and Carrier Pickup.

…for the light dusting of snow we got last night.

…for hot coffee on snowy mornings.

…for my church family, who never fails to be there for me.

…for the wisdom of women older than I, and the guidance they freely give me.

…for my friends, who put up with me, and call me out when they see me stray.

…that I have learned to be content. Mostly. It’s a work in progress, and I am genuinely thankful for that work!

This next week and a half is going to be a full one, based on my to-do list, but understanding that it is the Prince of Peace on the throne of my life allows me to look forward to it with eager joy, instead of anxiety.

Click on the button at the top of my post to get the button code. To read more thankful posts, visit December’s hostess, Iris, at Grace Alone.

What are you thankful for this week?

5 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. Thank you for the post! I just read that Philippians verse like 2 min. ago. I think our Lord is trying to tell me something. 😉 May God richly bless you guys this Christmas!

    Like

  2. Great post! How wonderful that you got snow. We were suppose to get snow last night, but never did. The kids and I are a bit disappointed, but it will come in God’s time…

    Happy Thankful Thursday!

    Like

  3. Thank you Jesus for eyes – to see all the blessings and to count them one by one! Great list! Do everything without complaining or arguing was my first memory verse 2 years ago…and I think it’s the hardest one to conquer! Happy TT
    Julie

    Like

  4. Hello Tiff,

    Learning to be content…it’s a work in progress for most of us, I would think. But the rewards are great!
    Thank you for sharing and may you and your family have a blessed and peaceful Christmas as you continue to stay close to the Prince of Peace.

    Marsha

    Like

Comments are closed.