Not the Top 3 Anyone Really Wants to Know

Today’s challenge requires me to write about my top 3 pet peeves. Ew. Who wants to read that? Oh well. In the interest of obeying the rules, here goes.


As a mom, I think my list of pet peeves might be far longer than it ought to be. When you have four children, four pets, and a husband all living in about 1200 square feet with only one bathroom, the first world problems seem to multiply.

But so does grace. Theoretically.

Grace is hard, because none of us really deserve it, and that’s the whole point. I think I might be the worst of the lot living under this roof. The kids don’t count, because they’re kids. I should know better.

Anyway, my top three pet peeves are as follows:

ONE: Mouth noises, especially chewing. I think I actually have misophonia, as the sounds emanating from anyone’s mouth other than talking evoke instant anger that I must swallow. I also am greatly discombobulated by many “white” or repetitive noises.

My poor family doesn’t know what to do with me. Levi trolls me sometimes, but it’s only because he loves me. (Right?) I don’t know of any other single area where I have had to exercise such regular, mundane grace. I have to find ways to cope, because it’s not their fault that normal chewing sounds drive me batty. It’s really not. Levi is a bit of a loud chewer, but really, it’s nothing out of the ordinary.

It helps to have music playing, or general conversation going during a meal. I can’t stand eating with anyone in silence. And that’s not anyone’s fault but mine.

TWO: People who don’t know how to navigate traffic circles or four-way stops. Seriously people. Stop being “polite,” and just follow the rules.

If you want to be polite, become confident in the rules of the road. The rules are really simple and designed to keep traffic flowing safely and efficiently. Of course, just as I am getting super annoyed, I end up making a similar mistake. So there’s that.

THREE: Facebook being used as the new street corner for private acts of charity.

“Be careful not to practice your righteousness in front of others to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven. So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”
~Matthew 6:1-4 (NIV)

It’s one thing to fundraise and gather materials for a large project you or your family want to tackle. Doing so helps minister to and set an example for the body of Christ. That’s not what I’m talking about. Those things are public ministry, designed to include the body of Christ, not garner admiration.

Here’s an example of what I mean, pulled from Twitter:
cheryl-yeoh

If your right hand isn’t supposed to be knowing what your left hand is doing, then why should Twitter or Facebook know? Did you pay for those groceries out of love for the person behind you, or did you pay for them “to be seen by them?

The reason I really hate writing about pet peeves is that I know for a fact that what bothers me most is just a reflection of what I dislike about myself. That whole “speck vs. plank” thing is real, and I cringe, remembering incidences in my own life where I have done these very things I hate so much.

I can only take comfort in the fact that Paul the Apostle–the guy who wrote half of the New Testament–struggled too.

I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it. So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death? Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in my sinful naturea slave to the law of sin.
~Romans 7:15-25 (NIV-emphasis mine)

And who am I to think that I can live more purely than the Apostle Paul?

So, pet peeves. They’re real, and they’re convicting.

Do you have some serious pet peeves?

Grace & Peace,
signature

