USAF Academy Visit.

Jared is really into all things military, as he has plans to be a Navy SEAL when he grows up. He just might do it, too. So, I told him about the USAF Academy and decided to take him to check it out. It’s so much fun to see his eyes light up when he talks about the military. His head is chock full of history, trivia, and did-you-knows.

We started at the visitor center, where they played a 21 minute “Year in Blue” video detailing a year in the life of Fourth Class (freshmen) cadets. The kids were all blown away.

They’re amazed at the courage, integrity, and work it takes to make it at the Academy. I think it gave them a new respect for our military, and maybe planted a few seeds of desire. I would be proud to have any of my kids make it into the Academy.

We then took the short hike to the USAFA Cadet Chapel – a renowned landmark. This structure is incredible. Absolutely incredible. We walked into the Protestant Chapel (the main structure), and were dumbstruck. Audrey was literally moved to tears, and when I asked her what was wrong, she replied, “Nothing, Mom. It’s just so beautiful!” I completely understood as I was on the verge of tears myself.

After that, everyone was hungry, so we grabbed a snack from the gift shop, and stopped on the way back to the gate to check out Jared’s other priority, the B52 bomber. It was a hit, and Jared was excited to point out all the different parts of the plane he could recognize, and reading the placards.

Good day.

Grace & Peace,
Tiff

One thought on “USAF Academy Visit.

  1. Thanks for writing and sending this out! I’m glad you all had a good time. Israel has thought about joining the Navy also, but he wants to fly. 😊 love ya, Liorah

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Comments are closed.