Totally Gross

This is a before and after shot of the top of my kitchen cabinets. I have battled that nasty greasy dust that settles in formidable layers and surrendered. I have tried so many things, and eventually kind of gave up. This year, when I decided to spring clean, I decided I would google it.

Why I haven’t done that before, I have no idea. Suffice it to say that the last time I actually attempted to get this clean, I hadn’t yet figured out Pinterest. That’s as close as I will come to telling you how many years of grease-dust were on my cabinets. *shudders*

Anyway. I would rather write about other things, but spring cleaning has consumed my life, so this is what you get. (Sorry for the potato-like quality of the image. Cell phones. What are you going to do?)
gross cabinet
How I did it:

I started with this link: How to Clean the Tops of Greasy Kitchen Cabinets. I then realized that my cabinets were far more gross than hers were. *shudders again*

So, I modified her process a tad. I used her natural method, because commercial cleaners are overrated in the vast majority of cases. I don’t care so much about the chemicals, it’s just like buying pancake mix. Why bother when you probably already have all the ingredients you need already, and it will be far cheaper and work better? Baking soda and vinegar, baby. Baking soda and vinegar.

In the spray bottle of vinegar, I added about 10 drops of orange essential oil, just because. Why not? I also found that sprinkling the baking soda, then spraying it, worked better than the other way around. I then scraped and scraped, as per her instructions. I couldn’t quite get every last layer, though. So, while I continued to sprinkle, spray, wait, and scrape, I thought.

We happen to have some Goo Gone (one of the few cleaners I really like for rare tough jobs). After I finished scraping each section, I sprayed it down with the stuff.

Last, but not least, I “mopped” the top of my cabinets.

There is really only one effective way to mop.

    1. Glop lots of soapy water on said area. Like, make a frigging puddle. Rinse the mop.
    2. Wring the bejeebers out of the mop, until it’s almost dry.
    3. Mop up all the glopped on water.

Look it up. It’s how I learned at McDonald’s, and it’s way more effective than any other method, ever.

Anyway, I applied the same principle with a rag and hot soapy water. Totally got that last thin layer of grease up. To finish, I lined the tops with waxed paper (the above blog post suggests any paper you can find), just to keep things easier in the future. I’m all about easy housekeeping.

There you go. How I cleaned that grossness.

Happy now?

Grace & Peace,
Tiff

6 thoughts on “Totally Gross

  1. Thanks Tiff. That was pretty helpful. I must do this. I am right there with you and I have years of greasy dust on top of my cabinets. I have a confession. That I never really spring clean. I just clean as needed my vents ceiling fans and etc… Are pretty gross. You have inspired me to get my butt in gear. I am sure you will sleep better tonight knowing you no longer have grease on top of your cabinets.

  2. Interesting. I do fan blades with Mop & Glo. One time. That wax makes them slick forevermore and after that, they just need occasional dusting. Nothing sticks to them. Mop & Glo and a white scratcher, on wood. Mmm. 🙂

Comments are closed.