30 Days of Thanksgiving, Day 1: Coffee

11162475_10205832115377628_3436147692707849525_nCoffee.

I am grateful for coffee, because it is what enables to sentence putting together things of doing and such like.

Or something.

Light hearted. That’s how I want to keep this year’s thankful posts, because that’s just easier right now. If I try to think too much about all I have to do, want to do, and hope to do in the near future, I crumble into a pile of uselessness and tears and stress.

So, coffee.

I’m thankful for it. Especially good coffee, because good coffee doesn’t need silly creamers, sugar, or even half-and-half. It’s perfect in its dark, handsome, rich and slightly bitter hotness.

Iced or hot, it comforts. The smell is divine. The texture sublime.

It is my drug of choice, and I revel in my addiction. I do try to moderate it, but there are some days, weeks, and even months in which it becomes my blood type through sheer necessity. Birth work is tough, and being on-call and sleep deprived as a default mode really wears on a person. Coffee dulls the sting of sleep deprivation most effectively, and enables me to human more efficiently. (Yes, “human” is a verb in my vocabulary. Thank you, coffee, for such creative license.)

So coffee. I love it. More than chocolate, these days. Sacrilege, I know, but it’s true.

It brings people together. There’s nothing quite like a cup of something hot (yes, I still love my tea-drinking friends) to bond over.

Coffee. It understands me, and I will welcome its warm embrace pretty much any time, anywhere.

What are you thankful for today?

Grace and Peace,
Tiffany

5 thoughts on “30 Days of Thanksgiving, Day 1: Coffee

  1. Okay, I’m on my way. Get the pot hot! 😀
    I have never read anything so amazing in praise of coffee. You actually DO get it. Thank you!
    As for what I’m thankful for, right now, I’d say “people who help with childbirth”, since I just got a beautiful, new grandson last week. His name is Jeremiah, and his 18mo sister calls him “My-Myah”. She thinks he’s hers. ❤

  2. Today, I’m really thankful for WhatsApp, which is an app that lets me text and send pictures and audio clips to friends anywhere in the world who have the same app. I am thankful for other internet communication platforms as well (skype, email, FB), but WhatsApp allows me to keep in constant, daily communication with people I’m closest to and I really am grateful for that. I am often in places where I don’t have any (or many) friends because I haven’t made them there yet, but keeping in touch with my closest friends around the world allows me to have my own version of community. For this, I am very thankful.

    • Reading over my post, it sounds kind of like an advertisement, which definitely isn’t my purpose. I just really like texting my friends from anywhere and in the olden days (like, 5 years ago – technologically speaking) you really just couldn’t do that. 🙂

    • I have a similar app, so I can communicate with my sister-in-law in Korea. God bless technology! We’re living in Star Trekian days, except for the interstellar travel thing…

Comments are closed.