Our First Butterfly Kit

This kid...

This kid…

After Dain read a short story about a caterpillar who turned into a lovely moth, he became curious about butterflies and their life cycle. What better way to learn than to order a butterfly kit, and “grow” some yourself?

So, that’s just what we did. We received five caterpillars, and all five made it to butterfly-hood. They were painted lady butterflies, and only one seemed rather weak when it was time to let them go. Just to be all official-like, I had the kids make sketches every couple of days of the caterpillars, then the chrysalises, then the butterflies.

Of course, we had to name them. Durin named his Lilo. Lydia’s became Fluttershy. Audrey named hers Beautiful. Dain’s butterfly was called Silly. They left the fifth one for me, so I chose the name Rose Tyler. They all looked the same to me, but the kids swear they could tell the difference! I believe them.

Anyway, pictures. Durin’s butterfly flew off too fast for me to get a picture of him holding it, so I’m sorry about that. Poor Rose Tyler was rather weak, so we placed her carefully on a tree limb, hoping she would recover. If not, at least she died surrounded by green and breeze.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

3 thoughts on “Our First Butterfly Kit

  1. You’re such a good mommy Tiff! I want to do this with my girlies when they get a little older. I’m getting good ideas from you =) I like the idea of the sourdough bread too. I’m going to have to get some recipes and get started on that. Miss all of you Davey gals!

Comments are closed.