The Whole 30: My Results.

I'm not quite as skinny as this makes me look, but still...

I’m not quite as skinny as this makes me look, but still…

Monday was my last official day on the Whole 30 plan. I have to say that the 30 days blew by very quickly, and it really wasn’t difficult at all. The only time I really struggled with a “craving” was when I went too long between meals, and it was easily remedied by reaching for some wholesome snack.

Tuesday, I was able to start re-incorporating some of the foods I eliminated, beginning with non-gluten grains. Naturally, I went with sushi! Today (Wednesday), I’m back on the Whole 30, so I can evaluate my body’s response to the rice in the sushi.

(Turns out, I was supposed to add back in beans/legumes first, so I accidentally reversed the first two re-introduction steps. Oh well – as long as I follow the basic protocol, I feel okay about it.)

Tomorrow, I get to add back in beans/legumes. Then, back to Whole 30 the next day to evaluate, and so on. The next 10 days are essentially a food diary/evaluation/reintroduction thing. At the end of it, I also plan on having my chiropractor muscle test me for the different food groups, just to confirm whether I ought to eat them, or whether I need to evaluate more closely.

Just to sum up, I would like to share the differences I have noticed between now and the beginning of my Whole 30 journey. I didn’t feel like anything was drastic, but there has been a definite change in me, physically, mentally, and even emotionally! I’m really glad I chose to do something that felt right to me. I was right to go with my gut on this one.

So, without further ado, the changes I’ve noticed:

Physically:

  • Weight loss. I didn’t weigh myself at all during the 30 days. When I stepped on the scale on the last day, I found I was 12 pounds lighter than when I started. No wonder my jeans got loose! I think most of it was likely water weight/inflammation, not necessarily fat, though. I don’t really know.
  • The swelling in my ankle has reduced dramatically! I still have a pronounced area of inflammation or scar tissue, but I am now adding in daily turmeric to see if that helps reduce it further than diet allowed.
  • My carpal tunnel pain is drastically reduced.
  • **May be TMI** PMS symptoms are drastically reduced. Before, I would have 1-2 solid weeks of: very tender breasts, strong low back pain/cramping, constipation, and acne breakouts. I have had two cycles during these 30 days, and have experienced: NO constipation, NO low back pain, barely noticeable cramping, one day of mildly tender breasts right before my period, and almost no acne.
  • Note on acne: I did have some “detox” acne on the back of my neck, according to my chiropractor. She believes it was a withdrawal symptom of dropping sugar cold-turkey. I happen to agree, but you’ll have to take my word for it.
  • I am very regular now. And there was much rejoicing.
  • My sleep is higher quality, and I feel rested when I get up in the morning. This is more strongly evidenced by the fact that I have had at least 5 births during the 30 days, 3 of them back-to-back. It only took me two days to feel fully recovered, in regards to my sleep!
  • I no longer need an afternoon cup of coffee. If I have a fatigue slump in the afternoon, it’s because I went too long without eating, and my blood sugar is low. A snack fixes it every time, and my energy pops right back up.

Mental/Emotional:

  • Overall, I feel less foggy/clueless/brainless.
  • I am forgetting fewer things. I notice an uptick in forgetfulness when I am recovering after a birth, but other than that, I’m a bit frazzled by busyness, but not forgetting nearly as much.
  • **May be TMI** During my menstrual cycle, I was struggling with serious (SERIOUS) depressive symptoms in the week prior to my period, as well as strong irritability and mood swings. I am far more even-keeled emotionally and mentally, as evidenced by experiencing two cycles at the beginning and end of my Whole 30. The effects were noticeable even in the first cycle. This second one (started today), is even more strongly affected positively! Yesterday should have been dark, depressing, and full of anger and tears. Instead, I felt NORMAL. This is probably my least expected, most appreciated effect of changing my diet positively. I chalk it up to the utter lack of sugar.
  • Did I mention ZERO depressive symptoms??? Because…holy wow. Thank the good Lord in heaven–literally!
  • I feel like my sunshiney, true Self more days than I don’t. (No depression…have I mentioned that?)

Other:

  • I don’t know how to classify my energy level, so it gets its own bullet point. I feel good. My energy level stays consistent throughout the day, and I feel like I have more productive days than not. I am still always a little behind on most things, but I worry less about it. I feel like I’m living more in the present, and letting things go easier. I feel motivated, even if I’m a little tired, and I find myself well-fueled, hydrated, and like I just function better overall.

The Whole 30 has not solved all of my issues, but I feel like it’s given me the ability to see my issues more clearly.  I feel as though I can actually set some goals, follow through, and accept my failures as mere stepping stones to success in many areas of my life.

Another great thing that has come out of this, is that I feel more connected to Levi, since he supported me and did so much of the cooking. We have found a connection point outside kids, home, work, and birth stuff. And who doesn’t love connecting over FOOD?!

He has also decided that we are going to eat more and more this way as a family. I am whole-heartedly in agreement with him! We won’t necessarily be Whole 30 compliant forever, but leaning heavily toward a Paleo lifestyle, since we both feel a lot better eating this way. (Levi has dropped a little over 20 pounds, too, but most of that he lost before we started, just by giving up soda and eating more salad on his own).

Anyway, I think I will stop here for now. I will try to share a post filled with links to some of our favorite recipes we tried and liked.

Thanks so much for all your support and prayers, and I’ll let you know how the reintroduction phase goes!

Have you ever done an elimination or special diet like this? What were your results, and what have you found that works for you?

Grace & Peace
Tiffany

10 thoughts on “The Whole 30: My Results.

  1. I’m really happy for you. I’ve restarted my elimination diet, 3 weeks ago. I went back to what worked in the past (Specific Carbohydrate Diet, GAPS) and I’m feeling better too. Less inflammation overall was my biggest benefit. It’s a lot of work, but it’s worth all of the benefits knowing what foods are your triggers and what are safe. Be well, my friend.

    • Oh my goodness, YES! I agree. You’ve got this, Sara — if you need support/encouragement, I’m your girl. Call me up any time!

  2. I’m contemplating another Whole30 but I’m waiting for the timing. I also need to be more intentional to balance certain macro-nutrients. I’m really struggling with some sort of malfunction in my body and I’m hoping to figure out what that is.
    The re-entry phase order is just a suggestion if I am remembering correctly so adding back in the reverse is probably just fine.
    I’m glad you had a good experience with it.

    • Well, your issue may be hormonal in nature, and not just related to food or activity. I recommend following Dr. Poppy on facebook, and go from there. She’s an amazing OB/Gyn who specializes in hormones–bioidentical hormones–and proper, comprehensive testing. She often does consultations over the internet or phone, too.

      Good luck, Jem! I’m sure you’ll find what’s best for you with a little research. 🙂

      • Thank you for this. It has been a long hard road and I don’t plan to sit on the side of the highway picking flowers but it seemed like a great alternative to trying one more thing but I have to.
        I will look that up because I suspect that may be the case as well. 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing your experience with us! It’s so helpful to see someone put this in action, showing that it is doable and it does give results!
    I had to do a sugar cleanse about a year ago to get rid of my sugar addiction. In the process, my doctor and found out that processed sugar was what had been making me so sick. Like running to the bathroom, depression, only enough energy for one chore kind of sick.
    I relapsed around Easter. (All that yummy chocolate!) So I’m back to only having the sugars that don’t make me sick.
    Additionally, I’m hypoglycemic. Even after drinking a grande Chai latte my blood sugar was still only at 65. We are going to be do blood test and dietary changes to figure out how to balance this.

    • Oh, WOW! That is some serious blood sugar issue you have! I’m so grateful I don’t have that to complicate matters, but you never know if/when those things might come into play.

      I’m encouraged to know that you understand the battle against sugar cravings. For me, it had definitely turned to gluttony, and I was just done. That was my main motivation.

      So glad you shared your story!

  4. I recently was on a 10 detox eating primarily certain fruits and vegetables. The results were better blood sugars (I am a diabetic), no more leg cramps, and better sleep. I feel a little more energetic but not what I was hoping for. My eating habit have changed a bit. Back to eating more fruits and veggies and carbs once in awhile. My craving for meat is non existent. I am curious about what you did. I’ll look to see if you wrote about it and I missed it. (:

  5. I’ve done lo carb and fat flush before. I know I feel lots better and lose plenty of weight when I practice either of these diets, but I make exceptions for birthdays, and it makes me backslide every time.
    I am going to have to stop making exceptions! 🙂
    Congratulations on your roaring success! 😉

Comments are closed.