Heart of Flesh?

“During the days of Jesus’ life on earth, he offered up prayers and petitions with loud cries and tears to the one who could save him from death, and he was heard because of his reverent submission. Although he was a son, he learned obedience from what he suffered and, once made perfect, he became the source of eternal salvation for all who obey him….” ~Hebrews 5:7-9 (NIV)

How often do I offer up prayers and petitions with loud cries and tears? Rarely. Even in my prayers, I bottle it all up until the dam breaks. Then, it’s just ugly crying at Jesus’ feet, and I come away wondering what good it did anyone.

Sure. Tears are cleansing. It’s better that the dam breaks at his feet than over my husband’s head, or in front of my children, who might be drowned in the torrent. Yes, I should find healthier outlets more regularly, I know. But where?

10940420_449152125250591_6969088723060346737_nMy prayer journal is pathetic. Each entry feels shorter than the last. And superficial. So I shut the pretty lined notebook, read my Bible, and move into my day. Trying to push away the nagging feeling that my heart of flesh is never coming back.

Have you ever overcome struggles in your prayer life?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

