Book Review: The Rainmaker, by John Grisham

The RainmakerThe Rainmaker by John Grisham
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This book is a page-turner. Too bad the ending is lackluster. I kept waiting for a real climax, but I didn’t feel there was one. I cared very little for Rudy Baylor. I feel like his books would make better movies. Then again, after reading and watching “The Firm,” I have a hard time believing that.

The Pelican Brief was actually good, and prompted me to give this one a try. A real “David-and-Goliath” story, right? Not really. There was never any doubt that the little guy would win. It was far too convenient. There were no plot twists that carried any wait. The only one came near the end, and was rather a let down.

All in all, Grisham has a good writing style, and kept me engaged. He just loses me at the end of his books. Very, very “meh,” in my opinion.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Rainmaker, by John Grisham

Comments are closed.