The Importance of Choosing the Right Hat

Image credit: mommystylist.com

Image credit: mommystylist.com

I wear a lot of hats. Christian. Wife. Mother. Friend. Sister. Daughter. Doula. Homeschool Mom. Student Midwife (yes, for officially reals now!). Childbirth Educator. Know-it-all. Bookworm. And so forth.

Sometimes, I show up wearing the wrong hat to the wrong place, at the wrong time.

For instance, when I need to put on my Friend hat, I instead don my Doula hat. The Doula hat is a model with a built-in feature that allows my brain to sift through a person’s various options, their benefits, risks, and alternatives, and hit on just the right one in seconds flat. Problem solved! All while my friend just needed me to listen and hear and maybe even empathize a little, rather than listen and reply.

One dear friend called me on it one day. Lovingly. Ever since, I have been trying so hard to make sure I have the right head gear on.

I don’t know how often I choose rightly, but I can honestly say that I am trying so very hard to to “be everything to everyone, so that I might save some.” And by “save,” I mean “be truly useful to.” To be what they need. Not what I think they need.

It’s hard to do. Because, frankly, I can’t save anyone anyway. Including myself.

So, help me out. If you notice that I am wearing the the wrong accessory upon my cranium, please kindly inform me, so that I can avoid being an idiot.

Thanks so much.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

4 thoughts on “The Importance of Choosing the Right Hat

  1. Hmm. I’d like to see you in that goldy-floppy one, top right. 🙂 Bet it would be cute. 🙂 In the meantime, I’ve never noticed you in the wrong hat. Must have to be there? 🙂

  2. I am a problem solver as well. My mother called me on it when I was little. I think it’s because I am always searching for solutions myself. It’s a different personality that just needs a shoulder to cry on, and I have a hard time putting myself in others’ shoes if I can’t understand at all. It’s something I definitely need to work on, but I agree with Katherine. I have never noticed this trait in you.

Comments are closed.