Book Review: “Walk the World’s Rim” by Betty Baker

This was our first Sonlight read-aloud this year, and it did not disappoint. I love the book choices that go along with Sonlight, as they not only care about historical accuracy, but about bringing the story to life in a way that will draw children in, and help them feel history instead of just reading about it.

Great book!

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

Walk The World's RimWalk The World’s Rim by Betty Baker
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Amazing fictional telling centered on Esteban, the slave belonging to Dorantes–one of just a few who survived the journey from Cuba to Florida with Cabeza de Vaca. I can’t recommend it enough. This book does not glorify the Spanish settlers, neither does it glorify Native American culture. It is altogether down-to-earth, believable, and tugs at the heartstrings. It required my children to think through complex issues like slavery, pre-conceived ideas, how we judge one another, religion, honor, and keeping one’s word.

Excellent book.

The ending made us all cry.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Walk the World’s Rim” by Betty Baker

    • The beauty of this book is that it was a read-aloud, meaning I read the book TO them. I like Sonlight, mainly because it uses living books, not text books. And I do most of the reading to them, though they all now like to take turns.

Comments are closed.