Summed Up In Song

Image credit: bmarmusical.com

Image credit: bmarmusical.com

I thought it would be difficult to name the three songs that have been the most important to my life, then I realized that I didn’t have to come up with the final say on the only three songs that matter. I decided to ask myself, “What three songs matter the most, right now? This moment? This day?”

That question is much easier to answer, because if if applies to Today, then it applies to Every Today. Besides, a girl has the right to change her mind, and there may come a song that displaces one of the three I am writing about today. I’m slowly learning that it is okay to think outside the box, and to put my personal stamp on anything I touch. That is what makes it mine, after all.

First up is an 80’s contemporary Christian song by Degarmo & Key. “Every Moment” is the song that defines my childhood. We never had a “Chevrolet car,” but my Mama did laugh, and my Daddy did tell stories. I will never forget spontaneous Sunday drives into the canyons around Spanish Fork, Utah, where we lived until I was about nine or ten years old. Staring out the window, watching the blur of red canyon rocks, a little river, and trees whose names I didn’t know drop behind us in a blur. I remember looking ahead, picking out one particular tree, and trying to follow it with my eyes, though it seemed to rocket past us on the highway. I remember watching the Man in the Moon follow us home, and wondering if he followed everyone that way. I remember seeing the “Do Not Pass” signs on the narrow, curving highways, and marveling that my dad dared to drive right past that clear command! (I thought the sign meant that you literally could not pass that particular sign.)

“I will always cherish all those days gone by. I thank God for the good times, every moment of my life.” That one line of the song really does summarize how I feel about my life. There are so many small, special memories that fill the recesses of my mind. I almost remember those more than the Big Ones, like birthdays and Christmas. Go figure.
Every Moment by Degarmo & Key

“Sacred,” by Caedmon’s Call is my quote-unquote life song right now. It’s the one I play over and over again on the hard days, when I need a reminder that “everything is sacred, and all this time, everything I’ve dreamed of has been right before my eyes.” Life as a wife and mother is hard. It doesn’t matter who you are, if you have kids, you have a rough ride ahead. It helps so much to know that I am not alone in my struggle, and that everything I do has a purpose. “My cup runneth over, and I worry about the stain,” but I am learning to “run to you like they run to me for every little thing.” How can I write about this song, when it already says so much?
Sacred by Caedmon’s Call

This. This song. It’s the one we sang at the top of our lungs at Dad’s memorial service in December of 2012. Hands lifted high, eyes closed, choking out the words as best I could, this has become a family anthem of sorts. All the kids know that it’s “Papa’s song,” and we all turn it up and sing it loud every time it comes on the radio. Sometimes, we cry, and we remember the pain of losing him. Sometimes, it helps us rejoice that it wasn’t a final good-bye, as it never really is for those whose faith rests on Jesus Christ and what he did for us all.

“And on that day, when my strength is failing.
The end draws near, and my time has come,
Still my soul will sing your praise unending
10,000 years and then forevermore.”

No other verse in any other song sums up my Dad’s faith the way this one does. God’s praise was on his lips until his mind was finally muddied by the tumors. His last words were of love and concern for my mother, and only when she said she was okay did he consent to leave this world and go home to his own 10,000 years and forevermore. Only then did he enter eternity peacefully.

And I will continue to sing, as loud and as long as I can, the praises of my Great King, who so loved my Dad that he took him home without pain. Who so loved the world, that he gave his Son to die for us. Who has given me 10,000 reasons and more to love and serve him whole-heartedly (if imperfectly). He is “rich in love, and slow to anger.” I would that all I love come to know him better.
10,000 Reasons by Matt Redman

There it is. My Writing 101 assignment for Day 3. It was a free-writing one, so I set my timer for 15 minutes (after finding the links first), and let loose. I’m not even going to edit or proofread this one. This is what my writing looks like when I don’t think, and I just type. Thanks for stopping by!

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

6 thoughts on “Summed Up In Song

    • Thanks, Kathy. I really had fun writing it. I decided to participate (as much as my life allows) in Writing 101 to try and challenge myself to grow as a writer. I’m excited to get some good constructive feedback from people who can be objective.

      I agree with “Sound of Silence.” I had a tape of Simon & Garfunkel hits that I loved. I love the “59th Street Bridge Song” myself. Just because it’s fun.

  1. Tiffany, I still get all teary eyed when I hear 10,000 reasons too because it makes me think of your dad and your family. I have so many childhood memories with your family. Great memories. In fact, while we’re talking songs, a song that makes me think of dancing at your house is “Who’s in the house? J.C.!” by Carman. =) I need time to think of what 3 songs speak to me today but that song just came to mind when I was thinking of fun times with the Davey’s.

Comments are closed.