Someday…

Image credit: news.bbcimg.co.uk

I often wonder what Someday looks like, and I draft maps of it in my mind, as if it were a place one could get to by stepping onto the right train platform at the right time. Not only the right time of day, but the Only Right Time in which one could, indeed, travel to Someday. I think, if I could travel anywhere, and be there right now, Someday would be it. There are so many dreams I have sent on ahead, and they wait for me there.

My Someday is filled with All the Things that elude plain old Today. Today, where laundry, window washing, dirty dishes, and muddy paw prints–from children and the dog–reside.

Someday is where the Parthenon, the Eiffel Tower, and the Taj Mahal rise from their foundations in old, majestic glory. It’s where Jesus walked, was baptized, lived, and died. Someday is where I will find Middle Earth, Green Gables, and a house in the English countryside where a certain Wardrobe waits.

I may even find the hurting, broken, and downtrodden who have never heard the name of Jesus. Women who are so undervalued that they give birth alone, their babies die, and no one cares. Someday is where I can bring soft, warm, loving, and supportive hands to help them in the great work of womanhood. To perhaps change the world for one woman and her children, by looking her in the eyes and telling her she matters. That her children matter. That she is not alone in the world. Where I can help empower women to work within the worst of circumstances to make a real difference for themselves and their children, hopefully for more than one generation.

Such high hopes I carry for Someday. Somehow, I think getting to Middle Earth might be easier.

What would it be like to reach this Someday, and have the chance to do All The Things my heart yearns to do?

It might feel like blood and sweat and tears and elbow grease. It might feel like a briny wind on my face, and sea foam curling around my toes. It might feel like tropical sunshine and millions of people. I honestly don’t know, but I know it will be Good. The kind of Good that stays with you forever, and sustains you like lembas bread in Mordor.

I am not yet there, but I hope to be. In the meantime, I live in Today, trusting that Someday will come, and learning to be content until I arrive on that train platform at the perfect coming together of times. I have no doubt that I will taste at least a part of Someday in this lifetime. It’s only a matter of when, and the right Doors wide open.

What about you? Where would you travel, if you could get there at the speed of light, today? This post is my assignment for Day 2 of Writing 101.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

 

18 thoughts on “Someday…

  1. I love your use of words. Beautiful. And very effective!

    I suspect Today you could do some of the things you yearn to do Someday!

    • Thank you so much! I feel excited at the thought I might get some good input from other writers, though it makes me nervous too.

      • I know what you mean! When you ask, you are taking a risk.

        My experience is that people on Word Press are very kind. Even if they have feedback for change it is given with respect.

      • I am glad for that. I really do have a desire to improve, and to find my voice. Too many words trapped in my brain, and they need to come out in a way that makes sense.

  2. Have to agree with @Karuna: This is a beautiful work; Your choice of words is excellent.

    Don’t really have any criticism, though if I had to point out anything it’d be the change in tone in the 4th paragraph. It took me a moment to catch up, is all. Once I did, your passion and devotion came through and I was right back with you.

    It’s a great post. Thanks for sharing.

    • I wondered about that. It felt odd to me, too, but I wasn’t sure how to segue better. Any suggestions there? Thank you for taking the time to read this and comment!

      • In general, I always tie these things back to emotion: You’re trying to pull the reader along with you so there should be a curve to your emotional arc. It’s hard to say in specific. I think it might serve to give the audience a hint that things are not all bright and cheery in Someday, that there were corners without light, windmills you wanted to tilt.

        Keep in mind what I mention is a *very* subtle and *extremely* subjective thing. It’s wonderful as it stands, segue or no.

        Have a question as well: Were you holding back on towards the end of that section? If so: Don’t. Emotion and passion are what drives us, fuels our writing. Own it.

      • That actually helps quite a bit, and gives me some ideas. Thank you for taking the time to help me out.

        Now that I think about it, I think I was holding back. I’m not sure if it was because I was just trying to catch up on the Writing 101 assignments, or if there was another reason. I’ll have to revisit this post when I can and improve it.

  3. Santiago, Chile, to visit an old, old friend, then from Phoenix to Colorado Springs to Boston to Corpus to Rio de Janeiro, to visit blogging friends. Then back home to visit my hennies.

  4. This is a beautiful post. I think finding that balance of remembering the past fondly, dreaming about the future optimistically and living in the present fully is where you find true happiness. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Travel (blog) Fail: Lots of beginnings without any endings | See Jules Travel

Comments are closed.