At the Keyboard.

QWERTY_keyboardI don’t even want to look at the date to see when my last post was written. Not only have I neglected my blog, I have abandoned promises I made to myself to write everyday. I still write my prayers out every morning, but that’s it. Some would argue that is all that is needed. It is the foundation, and the well from which all other writings spring, yet words fail me when I need them most.

I read things about writing. Blog posts, articles, and writing prompts. Yet, I do not write.

Why?

I have no idea.

A plethora of ideas for blog posts constantly marches through my mind, yet my fingers hesitate over the keyboard. I click over to WordPress, log in, and sit with still hands, writing nothing. I sigh, log out, and just go to bed. I try to ignore the nagging thoughts that plague me. I argue with myself:

“Something is better than nothing, just write something. Anything!”

“But I want my writing to have body and substance. I don’t want to put empty words on a page. That’s stupid.”

“It doesn’t matter. Writers just write. They throw their voice into the void, regardless of whether anyone will read it.”

“You are not a writer. Quit fooling yourself.”

Guess which voice is winning?

I don’t know what it will take to get me to just write. I suppose it is just like anything else. One day, I will wake up, and it will be Time. I will be compelled by an inner voice that will not leave me alone until the words come. I don’t want to count on that, though.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

PS: I will be disabling the Likes feature on my blog. Some information has come to light that makes me uncomfortable leaving that feature up, and until I know more, I prefer to eliminate it for now. Comments are still most heartily welcome! Thanks for understanding.

4 thoughts on “At the Keyboard.

  1. This was good, Tiff! I surely think it is writing! I read an essay once in which the writer recommended grabbing that negative voice and stuffing it into a jar and putting a tight lid on it. After that you’d be able to see it talking, but not able to hear it. That was always such a creepy image to me, that I would just shudder and write ANYTHING to keep from having to imagine it. šŸ™‚

    • Thank you for the encouragement. I needed it, I’m not ashamed to admit. šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.