Book Review Friday: The Spiritual Power of a Mother, by Michael Farris

The Spiritual Power of a Mother: Encouragement for the Homeschooling MomThe Spiritual Power of a Mother: Encouragement for the Homeschooling Mom by Michael Farris
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

To be honest, I have never read a book about homeschooling for one very simple reason: I have read blogs about homeschooling, and no matter how well-worded they are, they always make me feel like I’m “less than.” That I’m ruining my children for life, because my homeschool classroom doesn’t resemble any number of others.

Also, I tend to shy away from “self-help” books most of the time, because of their tendency to use dogmatic language and to insist that their formula is THE formula to get it all right in the end. They seem to be filled with promises that if I just do A, B, and C, I am guaranteed to get X, Y, and Z results in 30 days or less! Or some other such nonsense.

So, when this book was recommended by one of my best friends in the whole wide universe, I was still skeptical–especially because it’s written by a dude. I like dudes well enough, but some dudes need a kick in the shins when it comes to how they see women.

Anyway, when she gently insisted I pick it up, I agreed.

I am so glad that I did!

It really is exactly what it claims to be on the cover: Encouragement for the Homeschooling Mom.

That’s it.

There are no formulas. Not even really much advice.

Just encouragement.

That blessed word of grace, healing, and reassurance that I really am doing a good job. For the first time ever, I really do believe that I can see this homeschooling thing to the end of high school for each of my kids. I finally do believe that, while I’m imperfect, so is any other mode of education.

Things I’ve known about homeschooling have finally worked their way down into my very heart, and I now believe them. While my confidence isn’t perfect, it is now very real. I feel unstoppable, and I finally feel like I can integrate my mistakes into my strengths, and plow ahead. I am constantly learning, and I think this book is exactly what I needed, at exactly this time, to finally cement my convictions that what we are doing in our home is not only good, but RIGHT for our children. (To clarify: for OUR children. I’m not commenting about anyone else’s.)

In short, this book made me laugh a little. It made me cry a little. Above all, it finally made me believe in my God-given ability to be–not the perfect Mom–the really good Mom I was designed to be, even if I do screw up a lot.

I plan on buying this, and reading it when I’m struggling, because I know that I will keep struggling, and have dark days. This book is like a little dancing sunbeam in a dark room.

I loved it.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Book Review Friday: The Spiritual Power of a Mother, by Michael Farris

Comments are closed.