Failing Better?

A friend posted this on facebook. I honestly couldn't find the original source.

A friend posted this on facebook. I honestly couldn’t find the original source.

Since I feel like I’m less depressed than I was awhile ago, I thought I would share this aspect of things, and what I’m doing to try and kick depression while it’s down. Hey – depression fights dirty, so I will to. If I can get it to FREAKING STAY DOWN long enough, I feel like I might just be able to be somewhat normal again.

One of the things depression makes me do is to stop caring about anything. I care about people in my life, but not enough to make sure I stay connected. I just kind of hope that they stay around and mostly leave me alone. Then, when I’m alone, I get all pathetic and feel sorry for myself for being alone. It’s a vicious, stupid circle. Only the ones who keep chasing after me, and cornering me get any effort from me at all.

Some have given up (or maybe they’re just waiting for me to come around). And I’m okay with that. (If anyone reaches out, I won’t recoil.) I still care about those relationships. I just feel relieved I don’t have to expend effort in that direction for awhile, because I don’t have the energy. I have a very limited amount, and what I do have, I am spending on Levi and the kids. Though I’m doing better, I’m still struggling. Slogging through waist-deep mud, uphill. Both ways.

I’m failing a little better everyday. At least, the optimist in me hopes I am.

That’s all I can really work for at this point. One day at a time, one moment at a time, I have to be different than I was.

I have accepted that life will never be the same after Dad’s passing. Ever. There is no getting back to normal. Ever. There is no getting over it, the way one would get over the loss of a wallet or a watch. Ever. Ever. Ever.

There is only accepting life as it is now, instead of trying to go back. There is only finding a new normal, that makes at least a little sense. There is only living with the pain, as it comes around in cycles, for the rest of my life.

Forever.

And that’s just how it is.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

4 thoughts on “Failing Better?

  1. You’re right, Tiff. There will always be a pain, some days worse than others. But I tell you the truth, the pain you feel now will not remain. It will become less and less as time moves forward. And until then & during this time, I am sending you my love and hugs….. and I won’t stop.

Comments are closed.