Obedience Training

Image credit: jeremybinns.com

Image credit: jeremybinns.com

Well, Molly passed her training class last night! We earned the most stickers, so received a coupon for $25 off our next class with her. I’m seriously considering taking it. She is so hyper, and so social, and so easily distracted, that I think it could really benefit her.

Really, though, it’s because we are not practicing with her nearly enough. We’re consistent when we do, but we are just not giving her enough time to master some of the most important skills she is learning.

Just like everything else in my life.

As Levi and I go through some of the reflection questions to evaluate our past year, I’m struck by how much time I simply wasted. When I did do the things I wanted and needed to do, it was great, but I simply did not spend enough time doing them. I did not spend enough time mastering the skills and principles God was trying to teach me.

Molly is only slightly more distractible than I. SQUIRREL!

I am trying not to beat myself up, but instead repent for indolence where it’s needed, and give the same grace to myself I would gladly give to others in my situation.

On some days, I did the best I could with what I had, and that was good. On most days, I didn’t even try.

Well, what is past is past. I’m still in Obedience Training, when it comes down to it. I just need to practice a lot more. The thing is, they aren’t major skills I’m trying to master. They are just daily things. Daily, small choices to turn away from the world and sin and my flesh, and toward Jesus. To keep my eyes lifted up to his beautiful face, his eyes burning with fierce Charity.

“Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” ~Philippians 3:13-14 (NIV)

So, after we are done evaluating our past year, we are going to glean what lessons we can from it, put it behind us, and step forward into what is ahead. Whatever that looks like.

Never knew I could relate to a dog. Heh. That amuses me a little. How are you looking forward, and pressing on?

Grace & Peace,
Tiff

