Book Review: Julie & Julia by Julie Powell (a.k.a. The movie was better.)

Julie and Julia: My Year of Cooking DangerouslyJulie and Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously by Julie Powell
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Her writing is brilliant, witty, and very sharp. She was a bit all-over-the-place, but I assume that’s because it’s based on her blog. No complaints about her clipped and almost bantering writing style, really, but I’m not sure why I bothered to finish it.

This is one of the few books I feel that the movie was definitely better. Sure, her book is more raw, gritty, and realistic, but I feel the wholesomeness and fun of the movie far outweighs the narcissistic and whiny tone of the book. I’m a bit of an idealist, and when it comes to something like this (not a life-or-death drama) is better told with the optimistic twist. Of course, this is purely opinion-if I’m being objective, this book deserves to be on best-seller lists, but that doesn’t make it a “good” book.

And no, I don’t appreciate the potty mouth, no matter how true it is to reality. That never appeals to me.

View all my reviews

