Everything Is Sacred

Image credit: tinaboogren.typepad.com

It’s amazing how many do-overs we get in this life. If we live past one day, and then on and on beyond young childhood, we find ourselves making decisions in nearly every moment of our lives. Many of those decisions stink. A few of them don’t.

Such is life.

I’ve never really been a “Why me” kind of person, but I’ve also not thought much about it at all. I’ve mostly just accepted that life sucks more often than not, but it is so shot through with little sacred beams of light, that it more than makes up for that.

God is good. Therefore, each new day of life is good. It is a good gift, given by a good God, to a deeply flawed mortal.

“Everything is sacred,
and all this time,
Everything I’ve dreamed of
has been right before my eyes.

When I forget to drink from You,
I can feel the banks harden,
Lord, make me like the stream that feeds the garden.”
~Caedmon’s Call, “Sacred”

This is the song I play at top volume whenever I need to remember that there is nothing in my life untouched by God. Nothing. Either he is sovereign, or he is not. Either everything is a potential act of worship, or nothing is. Either God remembers that I am dust, and carries me by grace, through faith, or not.

Either he saved me, by the blood of Christ, to do good works prepared for me from before the beginning of time, or he did not.

There is no grey here.

But there is life. There is color. There is work and play and worship on holy ground, all jumbled together in a benevolent Sovereign Will. A will to which I can surrender, or not.

Thus, the need for do-overs. That surrender thing is difficult, and hard to explain. It’s something you just kind of do.

I get to take the tests until I pass. I get to study with the Professor, learning at his feet, if I so choose. I can rest my weary head on his lap, find comfort, and grow.

I have access to the Source of Everything at all times.

Whom shall I fear? What shall I fear?

Turns out, I fear more than I should. I fear my tendency to sin.

What I want to do, I don’t do, but what I hate, I do. Confession. Repentance. Forgiveness and “Go and sin no more.”

Do-over. Again.

Just keep swimming.

Every moment, everyday, to the glory of God.


I don’t quite know how to end this post, except that I seem to have run out of words. I just wanted to write.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

2 thoughts on “Everything Is Sacred

Comments are closed.