I’d Forgotten What It Felt Like…

So, here I am. Brains addled by a combination of consistent, slightly hectic homeschooling, and studying for my Neonatal Resuscitation certification in the Neonatal Resuscitation Program. Another factor contributing to my near-constant discombobulation lately is the work I have to do with my family and on myself, under the direction of my counselor (who is pretty amazing). It’s stirring up the grey matter and the heart a lot more than I thought. Eesh.

In the meantime, I’ve had a moment of release and joy and creativity, that I can’t quite get from writing. I created a painting for the first time in, quite literally, years!

Recently, I was surprised by my friend, Kim, and taken to this great place called “Paint the Town,” an open studio where you can go and do a 16″ x 20″ painting with a little help. You can select any one of hundreds of paintings there to be inspired by, and I (of course) chose to do a tree. The second I dipped my brush into the first color, I nearly cried from joy. I fought tears all evening as I stepped back, added color, and sang along to the 90’s tunes she had playing. It was bliss.

I haven’t painted anything since the very beginning of my marriage. I’d forgotten what it felt like. The utter soul-quiet, mess, and joy of creating something with color.

It's mine! I did it!

It’s mine! I did it!

I miss painting. I’ve never been taught much technique, but I love playing with color, and making something beautiful. So, this is my creation. All I have left to do is to add a little weight to the letters. Now that it’s on my wall, the quote is barely visible. So, I’ll be fixing that.

Other than that, I love it.

It’s a reminder that joy doesn’t have to come from some deep well of infinity somewhere. That it can come from making a mess with a friend while awesome tunes play in the background, and you learn a new flick of the wrist to create a texture you never thought of before.

It can come from color, pattern, and a simplistic painting.

It can come from stepping back, looking carefully, and being utterly satisfied with your work, even though it’s just a 16″x20″ canvas. It’s one more of my “Little Things” that tend to be bigger than they really are.

Here’s Kim and I with our respective paintings, on a night I will never forget.

Sorry for bad quality - it's on my phone.

Sorry for bad quality – it’s on my phone.

Now, I want to take the kids…and my other friends…and my mom and sisters…and ALL THE PEOPLE! What a beautiful place. Everyone is welcome, and the only skill needed is the ability to hold a paintbrush. That’s it.

Then, you just kind of let the beauty well up, and go for it.

Art is therapy – in any form. There is no way around it. Even if you’re not an artist.

I’m glad I got the reminder.

The kids and I have been working on forming some house rules. Well, more like governing principles that will last a lifetime. I plan to turn one of my old canvases into a piece of art with our rules all prettified on it, to hang in a prominent place. I need to play with color. How about you? When was the last time you made a beautiful mess?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

One thought on “I’d Forgotten What It Felt Like…

Comments are closed.