The Profundity of Bobby McFerrin

“In every life, expect some trouble.
When you worry, you make it double.
Don’t worry. Be happy.”
~Bobby McFerrin

Easier said than done, right?

This song just came up on Pandora, and I’m reminded why I added it in the first place.

That sweet little a-capella beat, the whistling, the light way his voice sort of bounces through the lyrics. And the lyrics. The simplicity of the vocabulary only adds to the impact.

“Don’t worry, be happy.
It will soon pass, whatever it is,
so don’t worry, be happy.”
~Bobby McFerrin

Such trite little cliches sprinkled throughout, made palatable by this catchy little ditty.

I love it.

Somehow, music works better than plain ol’ prose.

I’m not sure why that is, but I don’t care. Whatever helps to keep my head above water. If it works, it ain’t stupid.

The video makes it even better. (AND IS THAT ROBIN WILLIAMS???)

What works for you?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

4 thoughts on “The Profundity of Bobby McFerrin

Comments are closed.