My Words Aren’t Melody

Image credit: hereandnow.wbur.org

I am not a “big words” writer.

I do not make melody with vocabulary and grammar.

The words that come out of my fingers don’t lilt or sway or move in very lyrical fashion. I am not a poet.

I use words like a hammer, I think, pounding away at a thought until it takes some shape I am familiar with. Something recognizable, tangible, or at least comprehensible.

I’ve forgotten what Faeryland looks like. It’s been so long since I’ve visited.

I’ve questioned the name of my blog, in fact. I don’t walk about on Cloud Nine lately.

I don’t even have a theme here. I never really have. I write about ALL THE THINGS in my head and heart, and that’s just the way it is.

I’ve gotten to the point where I look back at my Old Self and barely recognize her. Who is she? Have I grown and changed for the better, or am I just getting old and crotchety? The question of the ages, right?

Anyway.

My words aren’t melody. I am not a poet. But – these words count for something. Thanks for sticking with me while I figure out what it is I’m here for.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

4 thoughts on “My Words Aren’t Melody

  1. You know in the bible where it talks about making a joyful “noise” to the L-rd as an offering of praise to him? Sometimes this is exactly how I feel about my writing too. They may not be lyrical and poetic (as you so beautifully put), but necessary and perfectly functional. They flow directly from the heart instead being refined by the mind. Keep writing. Sparkling with lovely words or blunt and precise, your words are necessary and purposeful. You are an amazing lady and I love to read your blog.
    On that note-
    “When I sit down to write a book, I do not say to myself, ‘I am going to produce a work of art.’ I write it because there is some lie that I want to expose, some fact to which I want to draw attention, and my initial concern is to get a hearing.”
    —George Orwell

  2. All the things in your head and your heart: that’s the theme, dear.
    And your thoughts and feelings cause new life in mine. I think your whole life is about helping new life come to light.
    Do not despair, dear millipede–just walk.

Comments are closed.