Book Review: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

The Lovely BonesThe Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Her writing style is gorgeous, and I loved the lilting prose. The premise was intriguing, and there was enough detail left out that I could tolerate the storyline. Violence against children is incredibly disturbing to me, and I picked up this book after watching the movie, knowing that I might not be able to finish it because of that factor.

She does a good job drawing you into the story without adding unnecessary detail. I felt her depiction of grief over the loss of a child and sibling in a family was realistic. My heart broke over and over for her parents. I felt angry at her mom for the decisions she made, though I understood why she did what she did. I felt horrible for her dad and little brother, and admiration for her sister.

I didn’t love the book, though, and one scenario nearly ruined it for me.

****SPOILER ALERT****

There is one scene in which the main character, Susie, essentially “possesses” another female character’s body temporarily, so she can have sex with the boy she had a crush on at the time of her own murder. I found that scene didn’t contribute to the story at all. In any way. It was very “meh.”

View all my reviews

