Book Review: The Holy Bible (as if I really need to “review” God’s Word!)

Holy Bible: NIV Thompson Chain Reference Bible-NIVHoly Bible: NIV Thompson Chain Reference Bible-NIV by Anonymous
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

For the first time in my Christian life, I have read the entire Bible, cover-to-cover. I pulled out Matthew Henry’s commentary occasionally to help me understand difficult passages, but other than that, I didn’t read anything else for my devotional timeIt took me two years, reading a little everyday, and I am so glad that I did it.

Never have I felt as though I got a glimpse of the bigger picture of my faith. God’s big picture is amazing, and I am just going to start over and read through it. Again and again and again.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review: The Holy Bible (as if I really need to “review” God’s Word!)

  1. I’ve been a Christian 5 years. Every time I start to read the Bible, I get distracted if I don’t understand a word or maybe a reason for what’s happening. So I’m off & running in the study notes. But I’ve heard a teacher share that to read the Bible, you have to let all the commentaries go & just keep reading & going forward. And now I hear it from someone I know!! So, yes! It can be read if I just read content & don’t study? This is so encouraging. I’m going to start again and plan ahead of time to just keep going like you did. Thank you. And high five for reading the whole thing!

Comments are closed.