One Year Ago, Today

One year ago, today, my sister and I pulled out of my driveway with our children and headed in a northwesterly direction. We were Oregon-bound. We’d received The Call from Mom only two weeks before, that Dad was likely to only have “weeks” left.

One year ago, today, somewhere in Denver, Jen lost her phone, and was stuck with CD’s for company, since I had her kiddo in my car.

One year ago, today, Durin wore glasses for the first time, and told me that the trees looked all “leafy and branchy, instead of like big green blobs!” It was an exciting day for him. He was also my co-pilot for the trip, sitting shotgun for the first time.

One year ago today, I prepared my heart for what was to come. I was ready.

One year ago today, Levi was left to stay in Colorado and work so that I could be totally free to say good-bye to my Dad by loving and serving him.

It’s odd to me that I remember this anniversary. I remember that day more vividly than I remember yesterday. There were no clouds in the sky. There was a breeze. The kids were thrilled for an extra vacation. I was uncertain, but determined.

I don’t quite know what Levi was feeling. I never asked him.

One year ago today, the meaning of “home” changed.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

