Book Review: The Heretic’s Wife by Brenda Rickman Vantrease

The Heretic's WifeThe Heretic’s Wife by Brenda Rickman Vantrease
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

For a book I literally picked up randomly off the library bookshelf, I am pleasantly surprised. Set in England, during the reign of King Henry VIII (specifically before his divorce from Katherine and during his wooing of Anne Boleyn). It follows the story of the wife of John Frith, named Kate Gough in the book. Frith was a friend of William Tyndale, martyred for his refusal to recant from his Protestant faith. In history, Frith’s wife is never named, but we know he had one. Little enough is known about them, that this story is woven beautifully and believably.

I enjoyed the full development of Kate’s character. I enjoyed the simple romance between Frith and Kate. I enjoyed a fictional glimpse into the lives of some major players of the day, including Henry VIII, Anne Boleyn, Sir Thomase More, and others. It made that time in history a little more real.

I cannot give it more than three stars, though. It tried to make me cry a few times, but didn’t really succeed, and some of the dialog didn’t quite feel 16th century to me. Then again, it is written in modern English…I suppose I shouldn’t be so picky.

Still, a good read.

View all my reviews

