Book Review: Warbreaker, by Brandon Sanderson

WarbreakerWarbreaker by Brandon Sanderson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

What I liked most about this book was the imaginative “magic” system. It is unique, and Sanderson leaves a lot of it to your imagination. There are basic outlines and structures, but the book never pretends to fully understand the “rules” of BioChromatic breaths. It’s believable because no one in the book has it all figured out, and as the reader, I am learning alongside the main characters.

I loved several twists the book took that were truly unexpected. Sanderson’s character development is excellent overall. However, as a stand-alone book, it did feel somewhat more rushed than his work in the Mistborn trilogy.

The dialogue in this book was far less believable than I am used to in Sanderson’s work, but still not bad. It’s not his best book, by any means, but it was truly enjoyable as a story.

This edition has several typos in it, which drove me batty. Someone needs to hire a better editor. Seriously.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Warbreaker, by Brandon Sanderson

  1. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog
    thus i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to improve my
    site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!
    !

    • I don’t think I’ve been to your blog, but as long as you credit me properly, it’s fine if you use some of my ideas.

Comments are closed.