E-Sports & Etched Glass.

etched glassSo, the husband is hosting a StarCraft party to watch the MLG Tournament thingy (I’m such a good wife). He’s not much for football, basketball, or baseball, but he really enjoys the chess-like strategy of StarCraft II.

For the occasion, Levi decided to make a set of beer glasses etched with the Zerg symbol (his favorite race in the game). This is his handiwork. He found a video tutorial on YouTube, on a channel called “Swords and Stitches.” Gamers are super-crafty and creative, it turns out.

I don’t know if you knew that or not, but it’s true.

To be honest, I still don’t understand the game, but I don’t understand more than the basics of football, either. I keep saying I want to go through the tutorial at least once, so I can try to understand the strategy, and what all the units do, so I can watch with him, and be a good E-sports wife.

StarCraft, and games like it, in my opinion are the modern version of chess. I may not understand the ins and outs of this game, but I understand my husband. He is intelligent, logical, and loves the glory of a victory won by good strategy. He loves chess.

Frankly, I am tired of feeling a need to defend my husband’s sport of choice. Just because it’s not “athletic” in the traditional sense, does not mean it isn’t a valid game. Chess players are respected around the world as being among the most brilliant minds. Why not StarCraft players? The strategies and speed with which this game must be played is truly astounding. There is so much to it, mentally. Frankly, the more I know, the more I admire the gaming crowd.

I admire my husband’s ability to keep track of the constant changes as new patches and expansions come out. He’s not thrown off by the changes, and understands them as well as any football nut understands the strategies of his favorite team’s coach. Levi knows player stats, personalities, and play styles. Just like football nuts know all the stats of every player on their favorite team.

“But gaming is so addictive!” you may object.

So is football. My husband doesn’t spend any more time watching his games (or playing them) than anyone else’s husband does. In fact, he likely spends less time, from what I’ve seen. Also – we don’t have to pay for cable or satellite in order for him to follow the game he loves. Bonus. Gaming can be pretty frugal.

E-sports are a valid form of competition. There are people who make a living at playing this game now. They’re a different demographic than the traditional athletic crowd, and frankly, I like them.

Especially when I see the creative inspiration that comes from their minds. Like the etched glass thing.

We can’t just go to a store somewhere and buy whatever paraphernalia we want. Sure, there are “geek” sites that sell some, but if you want to find something good, you either make it yourself or commission it from an Etsy user.

Levi’s love of gaming led him to get creative, and to play with acid and vinyl.

I think it’s kind of sexy.

Please take the time to watch the video I posted, and for heaven’s sake, stop looking at me like you feel sorry for me because I have a gamer husband! I like him! I knew what I was getting into when I married him, and frankly, I have a lot of respect for him. My gamer husband is no different than your football-loving husband.

Period.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

5 thoughts on “E-Sports & Etched Glass.

  1. Bravo, Tiffany. I honestly didn’t understand both football and real-time strategy gamers until I saw my first E-Sports match on the online multiplayer, first-person shooter Team Fortress 2. In the middle of that match, I just understood and I believe I even took the time to let Facebook know; I was so excited. I still don’t get into athletic sports like football, nor have I ever been able to grip the details of a real-time strategy game like Starcraft II, but I do have an understanding and respect for those that do.

  2. Go Levi, those etched glasses look awesome! And I’m sure my husband would like StarCraft as well (he’s never been into football or the like). He talks about gaming sessions they would have in college that would last for days on end! When I meant Andrew in grad school, this was his game of choice: http://www.worldofmunchkin.com/game/

Comments are closed.