Level Ground

Image googled - I can't find the original source.

Image googled – I can’t find the original source.

I was trying to understand the passage in Zechariah I was reading this morning, without much success. I looked it up in the giant Matthew Henry commentary of Dad’s that Mom gave me. I still don’t understand the prophecy’s specifics, but I ended up getting a better overall picture of what it was talking about.

Anyway, as I was reading the commentary, this quote jumped off the page at me.

“The gospel of Christ, where it comes in power, levels the ground, that the Lord alone may be exalted.” ~Matthew Henry

Oh! the beauty of the gospel of Christ! The ground at the foot of the Cross is level, my friends. Before God, there is no slave or free, Jew or Gentile, black or white, rich or poor. All are equally sinful, and equally in need of God’s grace. There is no one God will take more notice of than another when it comes to repentance and faith.

All are loved and valued by their Creator. All are invited to come. All who kneel here are welcome. All who repent and believe are saved.

“There is no difference, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.” ~Romans 3:22b-24 (NIV-emphasis mine)

Everyone who comes finally has their eyes opened to the reality of their position as sinners before the throne of a truly holy God. There is none like Him.

He is God.

He justifies us freely, through His grace, and by the blood of the Lamb.

Won’t you come? After all, it’s the least we can do, since we helped drive the nails that day, so long ago.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

2 thoughts on “Level Ground

Comments are closed.