I Have a Word! (And other things.)

Image found at: http://kdvr.com

Image found at: http://kdvr.com

The sun is rising a little earlier each morning. I like that. Waking up when it’s dark can be difficult, even for a morning person.

I miss Dad, but the more I read about Heaven, the more happy I am for him. There’s still this weird ache inside, and I still feel like I’ve been changed by his death, but it’s all beginning to be tinted just a bit by a deep-rooted joy. I think it’s always been there, but pain has masked it for awhile.

Mom has taken a trip up to Alaska, where she can soak in the love of family she doesn’t get to see enough of. I am so, so glad she can get away.

I wish I could have gone with her. I haven’t really had much of a break. Not officially, anyway.

I’ve been lazy lately. Not the good, restful kind, either. The sinful kind of idleness has pervaded for awhile now, and I’m sick of it. I don’t want to go into nitty-gritty detail, but there it is. I’ve chosen repentance this morning, and am taking practical steps to fight that idleness, and obey God today.

I’m wondering if some of my friends have been right. Some have suggested that I do need a bit of a getaway, to finally debrief and really come to grips with everything. Perhaps, plunging right back into “normal life” wasn’t the best idea after all. I don’t know. I’m praying about it.

We’ll see what the Lord brings.

In the meantime, I still need to keep plowing through daily life and living with a good will to work and worship my God through the details. To do everything, “as unto the Lord.” After all, it’s Him I am serving, and no one else. It’s through Him I live and move and have my being. And to Him, obedience is better than sacrifice.

Also, coffee and a sunrise really are lovely accompaniments to time with my Abba Father in the mornings. Time that is spent a little better each morning. I’m only a little over halfway through my reading of the entire Bible, and I’m already planning what my next “devotional” will be.

I’m thinking of finally getting all the way through “Morning & Evening” by Charles H. Spurgeon. I’ve read some of it, here and there, and it is fantastic and challenging. My other go-to to try is “My Utmost for His Highest,” by Oswald Chambers. My dad’s favorite devotional. I don’t have his copy – Mom has that, and rightly so. I just have one I picked up at Goodwill.

I can no longer stand the thought of a morning without meeting my Savior, Friend, and Shepherd. I need him so desperately, it hurts.

He really is the end-all, be-all. There is no one like Him.

My prayer and joy this morning:

I think I just found my “Word” for the year.

“Everyday.”

Cool. It only took until February. Oh well.

Do you have a favorite devotional? Have you ever read completely through the Bible? When was it, and how did it change your view of God? What’s your theme song? Do you have a word for the year?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

8 thoughts on “I Have a Word! (And other things.)

    • Levi and I are hoping to go away for two nights or so around our anniversary next month, and if we can swing that, then yes. 🙂

  1. Wow.

    Everyday.

    Do you realize how “EVERY DAY” God is? I’m just thinking and thinking about this. He says: Choose you, this day. . . , Now is the exceptable day . . . Let him deny himself daily . . . I die daily . . .

    That’s all just from my memory. I am sure there is more that eludes me right now.

    Yes, I have read the Bible through several times. That is how I read it; one chapter a day. I’m not racing all the “read it in a year” folks, just taking it as it comes: too big for one year with me. 🙂

    I’ve been hearing “gentleness” a lot lately. Did not know I could “get a word” for the year. Actually, I’ve been hearing “gentleness” for about 20 year. I should have it by now, but alas.

    Thanks for this great post! I love it and needed it so! 🙂

  2. When I was younger I had a devotional call Experiencing God that really impacted me. I learned truths about God and myself that still are with me. Its great to go back and read through my journal entries. This year I will be finishing listening to Chuck Smith teach through the entire bible. Everywhere we drive I have been listening. What a heart changer. I can’t wait to start over and see what new things I hear!

    I am waiting for you to send the kids over as well so you two have no excuse for not getting away together! They are more than welcome for a few days.

  3. Pingback: Everyday | The Faery Inn

Comments are closed.