Something I love more than coffee.

Image found at: moreprecious.wordpress.com

I hit the snooze alarm one too many times this morning, and didn’t get up until about eight o’clock.

I’ve also gone to bed each night this week far too late to get up at my normal 6:00am, but I was getting up anyway. So, perhaps I needed the sleep. I think I just didn’t want to get out of bed, in all honesty. I don’t like feeling that way in the morning.

However, I really don’t like getting a late start to the day either, yet here I am, writing a post instead of rushing through the morning routine.

Apparently, this is how I roll. At least, before I finish my first cup of coffee.

Meanwhile, I have just finished reading through the book of Daniel–an exciting read, if ever there was one. I think I’m going to crack open the commentary I got from Dad and just read through some of it, to try and understand Daniel a little more. I’ve got the general idea, but some of the details need to be filled in in my mind.

I have really come to a place where I deeply love and long for the Word of God. I love just drinking some in everyday, even though I’m not really studying it deeply right now. Just taking in the height and width and depth of it is overwhelming enough these days.

The scope of God’s glory is greater than I ever could have imagined. I have always been involved in studying small portions of Scripture, and while that’s a good thing, I have realized now that I’ve missed the forest for the trees.

Don’t get me wrong–each tree is worth an eternity of study in itself, but the forest! Oh! the forest! It is magnificent! The attributes of God have become real to me. I feel like I know my God better than I ever have, and I’ve only read about half of what there is to read. Seeing his heart for mankind, for me, standing out on literally every page is as much as I can stand. His love, his justice, his mercy, his mighty power, his grace, his patience, his anger, and his glory overwhelm me.

I have always thought that I loved the Word of God.

I didn’t. I thought it was amazing. I believed it, and searched its depths.

Now, though, now–I love it. I love Him who is the Word (Jesus Christ, John 1:1-5) in a deeper, more concrete sense than I ever have.

It’s hard to explain, but it’s true.

And that’s how I start my day each morning – whether I slept in or not. If I don’t open my Bible at all, I feel like I’m starving myself until I do finally sit down, and eat at my Father’s table. This isn’t a brag, but an encouragement. His Word has become my addiction. It’s more important to my day than coffee, by far! (You laugh, but you must know how much I love my coffee. And really, the Bible and coffee make an excellent morning team.)

Anyway–I’ve learned that I cannot really live without taking in some of His precious Word, even if it’s just a little. I beseech you: Open the Bible collecting dust on your shelf. Taste and see that the Lord is good!

You will never regret getting to know the God who made you and loves you. Give him your life, ask him to reveal himself to you. He promises that those who seek, will find, if they seek with all their heart.

What have you got to lose, but a little time?

What’s stopping you? If you don’t know where to start, or which translation to use – feel free to leave a comment, and I would be happy to start an email conversation with you, and help you. God is faithful, and will meet you and speak to you, wherever you are in your walk. Learn to love him, please!

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

2 thoughts on “Something I love more than coffee.

  1. Thank you for the encouragement :). I really notice the difference the mornings I don’t spend time with Jesus, before the day begins. I’m more anxious and more impatient…. I’ve also been missing my blogging/writing time. Sigh, it’s tough when I’m so tired in the evenings… silly pregnancy 🙂

Comments are closed.