Life, Love, Hope, & the Son (or The Ultimate Prayer Chain)

Dad (on the couch) looking forward to Life during his last "worship service."

Dad looking forward to Life during his last “worship service.”

“And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life.” ~1 John 5:11-12 (NIV)

I have been wending my way through Scripture slowly, discovering new gems I hadn’t known before. This one, in particular, is a verse I’m familiar with, and one in which I find great comfort. Especially now.

I used to think it was weird when I would hear people ask God to give a message to a loved one who had died. Well, it’s not weird, after all.

Why wouldn’t God care enough to let Dad know that I love him and miss him? I cannot help but ask that of Him, and somehow, I know He does pass on my love. Often, I don’t even realize I’ve said it until after I already have.

Dad lives in the presence of Love Himself, and basks in His light. I know he does not “miss” this earth, or anyone in it, but his love for those he left behind is not diminished.

I know Dad is in a place where he fully knows, even as he is fully known. His faith and his love are made perfect, and in that perfect faith, he can talk to God face-to-face about his family. I don’t know what that looks like, but I know it to be true.

Dad has access to the Ultimate Prayer Chain. He now knows the beginning and end of each of our stories–Mom’s, my sisters’, and mine.

That is so cool.

Before he died, Dad studied Heaven. He studied everything the Bible has to say about it, and it was one of the subjects that excited him the most. I was allowed to bring home the study book he used as a tool alongside Scripture, and I have found it hard to open just yet. I keep telling myself it’s because I want to finish reading the whole of the Bible before I read any other books about Scripture, but I’m not sure that is the real reason.

This morning, as I finished reading 1 John, and came across that verse at the top of this post, the desire to know more about the place where Dad lives now, with the Son, is overwhelming. I think it’s time to crack open that book, and take it all in.

He who has the Son has life.

Life.

Not death.

There really is so much to look forward to. So much reason to keep my eyes fixed on the One who has saved me. So much reason to hope.

There will be more days filled with grief, tears, and longing, but this particular moment isn’t one of them. This is one of the rare moments that my heart swells with gladness at the thought of where Dad is, and what he may be doing.

I hope these moments grow in me, until Hope is one of the major character traits that defines me.

What gems in Scripture have you taken heart in lately?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

5 thoughts on “Life, Love, Hope, & the Son (or The Ultimate Prayer Chain)

  1. Learning more about heaven is very powerful medicine. It’s a tremendous source of hope. The book “Heaven” by Randy Alcorn is one I would recommend. I don’t know if he has it nailed 100% but he brings out some things that I found very new to my thinking yet seemed right and very comforting.
    Another thought that I often wonder about (one that may be incredibly stupid but it’s how my mind works) is whether or not there is time in heaven. If time doesn’t exist there then your dad is already re-united with you. We have a long separation because here on earth, time has to pass. If there is no time to pass, there is no separation on that side. (I have no idea if there is anything to that or not but it is a thought that intrigues me and comforts me as well).

  2. Thank you for sharing the name of the book and author. I love your Dad having access to the ultimate prayer chain and how this scripture has inspired you.

Comments are closed.