The Most Precious Perogies.

Perogies!

Perogies!

I don’t take as many pictures as I used to, though I still take too many. We weren’t able to celebrate our little Christmas on New Year’s Day, like I was hoping, because a few of the gifts we ordered just weren’t going to make it in time. Here’s hoping for this next weekend. I still say this has been the weirdest Christmas season ever.

Last night, on a bit of a whim, Levi decided he would make us the perogies he learned how to make while we were gone. Of course, all the kids wanted to help, and Levi was a little hesitant, because of how involved the process is. I told him that the kids had really learned a lot while we were in Oregon, and that they had proven themselves more capable than we’d ever realized.

So, he taught them, and enjoyed the pleasant surprise of his kids doing good work.

Even Dain was able to do a good job!

They turned out wonderfully tasty, topped with sauteed (how on earth do you get the little accent marks?) onions, sour cream, and capers. The kids tried the capers hesitantly, but all four of them liked them.

I really do think that kids like food they help make, no matter what it is.

I love it when the kids surprise us. They really are great kids, in spite of all our mistakes.

The other day, I woke up to find Durin and Lydia conspiring over a cookbook, trying to decide what to make for breakfast, so I didn’t have to worry about it. Be still, my Mommy-heart! They ended up recruiting Daddy, Dain, and Audrey to help them make everyone breakfast sandwiches.

They are growing servant hearts, and I am so grateful to see that. They are such blessings in my life. Great, big, precious bundles of joy and enthusiasm and encouragement.

They are not perfect, and we have our battles, to be sure. However, they are wonderful, and I am so glad they are mine to care for while we are here on Earth.

Now, to keep encouraging this attitude in them by making sure I serve them as faithfully and lovingly as I have been called to do. Working on it.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

5 thoughts on “The Most Precious Perogies.

  1. What a blessing! And it will help them grow so much to be able to help you and serve you! A lesson I had to learn the hard way! But I ended up with great kids too!

  2. Josh and I stayed home sick today. Decided to read your blog. This one made us giggle after a few tears on the other posts. God is so good to remind us of his love through our little ones.

Comments are closed.