Your playing small does not serve the world.

Found on Pinterest - I can't find the original source.

Found on Pinterest – I can’t find the original source.

I got an email today from my mom. I just want to share it with you, unaltered.

Hello Everyone,
My adventure with Daron has ended, and how much I miss him, but I still have an adventure that I’m to go on. I’m not sure where it will take me and I really don’t want to go, but Daron would want me to move forward and lean on God as I go. So, as I was going through Daron’s things and emails, I found this quote that meant a lot to him. He wanted everyone to know how special each one of us are to God. I am still learning that concept.
He loved you all very much!
Tonya (my mom)

From Dad’s Email:

I watched “Coach Carter” the other day, and decided to look up the question that he repeated to Timo Cruse “What is your greatest Fear?” In reading the quote, I noticed that when Timo finally looked it up and quoted it he left out the part about God (at least I don’t remember him saying it this way). I think this holds true for all of us at times. Let me know what you think.

Tonya, forward this to Tiff and Trina, I don’t have their e-mail here at work.

“Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate,
but that we are powerful beyond measure.

It is our light, not our darkness, that frightens us.
We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant,
gorgeous, handsome, talented and fabulous?

Actually, who are you not to be?
You are a child of God.

Your playing small does not serve the world.

There is nothing enlightened about shrinking
so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.

We were born to make manifest the glory of God within us.
It is not just in some; it is in everyone.

And, as we let our own light shine, we consciously give
other people permission to do the same.

As we are liberated from our fear,
our presence automatically liberates others.”

~Marianne Williamson, from her book A Return to Love

Dad emailed this to Mom back in August of 2009, just a few months before our world was rocked by Dad’s diagnosis. Before he knew the storm we would weather.

I want to live up to this.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

3 thoughts on “Your playing small does not serve the world.

  1. Very inspiring. Don’t pretend to be small when you contain God. How nuts! Yet I am so afraid I will make someone else feel inadequate. Yep. They will maybe attack me because THEY want to know who in the world I think I am. Or I will claim knowledge I cannot prove. Or . . . it all seems so logical, but really, my small faith is in a big God. Thanks, Tiff, and thanks to your mom and dad. 🙂

  2. Few words that mean so much! This must be a very difficult time for your mom. She must feel so alone and empty losing her partner in marriage. Thank goodness she has a lovely family to lean on. How are you doing trying to unpack and setting up your school for the children at home again? Lots of adjustments and I’m sure you still have that empty heart, but remember it’s filled with all those memories of dad! You’ll still have those lonely moments, and you need time to grieve … but you have 4 children and a husband to care for … but remember you need to take care of yourself to be the best you can be! Cry a little and laugh a lot! Happy New Year! Take care and stay safe, Edie

Comments are closed.