My New Favorite Face Wash

Pinterest FTW!

And now for something completely different…

A couple of weeks after I arrived in Oregon, I discovered that my skin does not stay nearly as clear there as it does in dry Colorado. In Colorado, I had stopped washing my face, and just rinsed it well with hot water and used a good moisturizer. In Oregon, it was like every pore in my face decided to throw a zit party. I found this face wash “recipe” on Pinterest, which was just coconut oil and baking soda, and decided to give it a go.

It works beautifully! Probably not for all skin types, but it worked for my combination skin – I have an oily t-zone, and dry cheeks. Still, I think it’s one that can be adjusted to work for anyone, since it’s custom made.

I’m only reviewing it now, because I knew that it would take me at least two to three months to be sure it was working. Whenever you switch to a natural something-or-other, you really do need to give it a good amount of time before you decide it’s not working. Especially concerning hygiene products. Commercial face washes strip all your skin oils. This sends a signal to your brain that says, “Hey! There’s not enough oil in this skin! Make MORE!!!” So, when you back off and use something that does NOT strip oil, your body will still be in “over-compensation” mode for awhile. It can take up to three months for things to balance out, so be patient. When it does – you will likely be amazed!

So, I started trying it. I began to see good results in less than a week, but couldn’t believe it until I reached my monthly pre-menses breakout window. (Yes, I just said “menses.”) Usually, around that time, I get some really big, painful zits that never fully surface, but just stick around for two weeks, making me feel like I got punched in the face. Ever since I started washing my face this way, those have been utterly non-existent.

I still get occasional zits, but no more breakouts. None. At all.

Here are the basic instructions, straight from the Pinterest post: I use a scrub of baking soda and coconut oil every few days. On the days in between, just coconut oil. I use tiny amounts – a pinch of soda, and a bit of coconut oil the size of a pencil eraser. Wash in gentle, circular motions and rinse very well. Your face may seem oily afterward, but within a few minutes the oil is absorbed and your skin is glowing. My face used to break out regularly. Now, almost never!

The only thing I would add is to pat dry, and it helped me to make sure the area in front of my ears, and in the creases of my nose were dried well. I still felt like I needed a moisturizer, but perhaps I was drying too well… That will be the next change I make, I think. Just to tweak it until it’s just right for my skin. I am happy enough to talk about it, but I am still perfecting it for my personal needs.

Another big plus: It’s CHEAP. A little box of store-brand baking soda cost me 68 cents. A little packet of coconut oil cost me $1.58. If I am just using tiny amounts, and it works this well, it beats the living snot out of $5+ commercial products!

Needless to say, I am very happy.

I have been using this face wash everyday, but now that I’m in Colorado, I will probably back it off to twice a week, and use the coconut oil as a moisturizer in between.

Anyway – that’s all I wanted to say! Let me know if you try it, and how it works out for you!

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

6 thoughts on “My New Favorite Face Wash

  1. I am so going to try this. I had a friend give me a home made body scrub for christmas and it worked great! skin is so soft today!

  2. This is also the best tooth “paste” I have ever used. I hadn’t thought about using it on my face, but it makes sense. I’ve used coconut oil for almost everything recently, from an infected cut (because it’s a natural antibacterial) to diaper rash. And it smells good!

Comments are closed.