It’s a quiet, rainy afternoon.

Rainboots in mud. Oh yeah.

Rainboots in mud. Oh yeah.

The kids got their Christmas presents from Granny & Grandad early, in order to get the most use out of them before we have to go back to Colorado. There has been at least one whole day of jumping in mud puddles and getting thoroughly soaked, in spite of the boots. Oh well, we can’t all be perfect, right?

After finishing school today, I grabbed my laptop so I could get some work done on Christmas gifts while I take a turn sitting with Dad, watching him sleep. The guy is just worn out, and sleeps the majority of the time now. He wakes once in awhile to take a few bites of something, or to sip on some juice. He smiles whenever he opens his eyes and sees a face there, so he knows he’s never alone.

Now, I am writing this post while waiting for a bajillionty-two photos to upload to my Snapfish account, so that I can finish a few calendars by tonight, and get them ordered as gifts. (They are buy 2, get 1 free at Snapfish until tonight.)

It’s taking forrrr-eeeehhhhh-vurrrrr to upload said photos. Oh well. That’s what I get for waiting two months to do it.

I burned lunch today, too. I was heating up a pot of soup, and multi-tasking. Not a good combo when one forgets to set a timer, and the burner is on medium-high. I now have the pot caked with a baking soda and salt mixture, in the hopes of freeing Mom’s nice pan from the black muck in its bottom.

I am such a winner today.

As I sit here, watching Dad visit with his pastor, I marvel. As sick as Dad is – he is ALWAYS thinking of others, praying for others, and loving on others. He takes no thought for himself, even now. A man after God’s own heart. I love him so. He thought of at least a few people he wanted to make sure were put on the church’s prayer chain, and asked him to pass on his love to the family of God that has been loving on my parents for so many years.

The kids are in the dining room, taking turns making “stained glass” ornaments similar to the ones Mom & Dad made when they were first married. The kids helped Gramma decorate the tree Uncle Rick & Aunt Brenda cut and brought over for us, and just fell in love with those 32-year-old ornaments. So, of course, Gramma went out and found a kit for them

When Uncle Rick and I were setting up the tree, Lydia asked if it was real. I told her that the Noble Fir had come from the mountains around Diamond Lake. She replied, a reverent tone to her voice, “So, that’s why it’s so beautiful!”

I agree, dear daughter, I agree.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

