The Diligence of Children

These kids. They are mine. And I love them.

My kids are great little people.

They have been putting up with Mommy being on a weird sleep schedule this week. I haven’t managed to get to bed or to sleep before midnight this week, and am sleeping until about eight in the morning. They have been such troopers while we’ve stayed at Mom’s, where they have to be quieter, and more restrained due to the nature of what’s going on here in this house.

We have been staying with Mom & Dad this week, so that I can be more available around the clock, now that Dad is bed-ridden.

I am really glad they get to go down to Myrtle Creek for a couple of days this weekend to celebrate a second Thanksgiving with Granny & Grandad, though it doesn’t look like I will get to go with them.

My kids are really trying hard to be considerate and quiet. Not perfectly, of course, but I can see their efforts.

I have tried to encourage them every night by pointing out what they did well throughout the day, and to tell them that I am proud of them for trying.

They are growing in ways I couldn’t have imagined before we got to Oregon in September. Ways that I don’t think they would have grown in for years to come, if it weren’t for these circumstances.

Seeing God at work in their lives and hearts as we try to minister, as a family, to our family here is a privilege I wouldn’t trade for anything in the world.

Life is good. It is hard, to be sure, but it is good. It is through keeping our faith, our sincere efforts to be diligent, and our patience during this time, and any others to come, that we will inherit the promise of salvation.

God sees my kids, and their efforts to obey and trust, and I know that he will not forget their efforts–no matter how small they may seem to others.

“God is not unjust; he will not forget your work and the love you have shown him as you have helped his people and continue to help them. We want each of you to show this same diligence to the very end, in order to make your hope sure. We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised.” ~Hebrews 6:10-12 (NIV)

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

2 thoughts on “The Diligence of Children

  1. These are sacred times and the Lord is giving you the ability to speak His holiness into your children. It is taking root and their reverence shows it. Hugging you tight in my heart.

  2. You have beautiful children. They are growing and learning about family, life, dying, and most importantly about God and God’s blessings and miracles. Right now you are holding their hands, and leading them. With God’s blessings someday they will be reaching out to hold your hands. Keeping you and your family in heart, thoughts, and prayers. Take care and stay safe, Edie

Comments are closed.