I love…

The way a seemingly cheap pen surprises me when it glides smoothly across a piece of paper, in a meandering, cursive, black line.

The way a Christmas card slides into its envelope perfectly.

The weight of photo paper, and the faces looking back up at me from the palm of my hand.

How an overcast day just feels slower, no matter how busy I am.

The way various Asian dishes have superseded more traditional dishes as my comfort food of choice.

The feeling of having someone else wash my hair. (I got a haircut today.)

The quiet feeling that descends on the house when pretty much any rendition of “Away in a Manger” plays.

Except this version:

The taste of a simple bean soup. Broth, onions, a little salt and pepper.

Sitting in a wheelchair at my dad’s bedside, reading while he sleeps.

Listening to the kids in their pretend universe.

The way people just love on you when they don’t know what else to do or say.

The way some people really mean it when they ask how I’m doing.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

4 thoughts on “I love…

  1. The tranquility of your words is mesmerizing. I am encouraged that you don’t see the absence of people as a lack of caring.

Comments are closed.