Day 13: I Am Thankful for This (Update on My Dad)

My amazing parents.
Taken 9/9/2012

Yesterday was the three-year anniversary of the day we got the news that Dad had cancer. In two more days, it will by my parents’ 32nd wedding anniversary.

Today, I am thankful for the road we have traveled as a family. I am thankful that my parents meant it when they said “Till death do us part.” I am thankful that I have watched a man and woman of faith live as though God was real, and as though he really does love us. I am thankful for their love for God first, and for one another.

I am thankful for the three years God has given us with my Dad after his diagnosis. I am even thankful, today at least, for Dad’s cancer.

My mom explains it better than I can. So, here is her email update from yesterday:

Good Morning One and All,
Today is sort of an anniversary. Three years ago Daron was diagnosed with cancer. I’ll never forget the feelings that came with the announcement! My world stopped that day and has never been right side up since.
We didn’t realize that in some cases it was a good thing….

We started out with a fighting spirit, and ready to take on the evil that came. After 2 surgeries in December of 2009, our lives became a routine of trips to Eugene, daily at first, then monthly, CT scans, MRI’s, gamma kife surgeries, radiation, some good news, but most of the time unsettling news. We never could give people a direct answer to the questions that were asked. It has been 3 years of a roller coaster ride that goes only straight up and straight down, and I dearly hate roller coasters!

As of this past week, Daron has been relegated to a walker, and he needs help in almost everything he does.

Now 3 years later, the blessing of this is so amazing! We’ve been so blessed by people. People that we’ve known for a few months to people who we’ve known for years, People that we never would have met before, but God had a plan that involved some pain, uncertainty, tears, (lots of tears), helplessness, anger in some, questions with no answers in others, to have Daron tell them of his unwavering faith in a God who loves us enough to walk through the uncertainty of life to a certainty of life in him.

So, as Daron’s time here on earth winds down, his testimony will live on in me, his daughters, grandchildren, and the rest of our families. But most of all it will live on in the lives we never would have touched if it hadn’t been for the cancer. God really does work EVERYTHING for our good. Isn’t that the main reason we are here on earth? To live our faith?

Our fighting spirit hasn’t left us. We now use it to fight for the lives of people who need to know that God is God and he truly does love us and wants the best for us. No, life isn’t fair, but we can either let it get us down or we can grow from it and learn to lean on the one who knows us best and rest in the peace that only he can give.

So, just for today I will be a person who “AS FOR ME AND MY HOUSE, WE WILL SERVE THE LORD.”

Love you all,
Tonya

May I always bring honor to my parents by the way I live. May it always be said that, as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. May God be glorified in this.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

7 thoughts on “Day 13: I Am Thankful for This (Update on My Dad)

    • ((hugs)) Thank you for taking the time to stop and encourage me again. Sometimes I wonder how many people are getting tired of these posts, or think I’m fishing for compliments. I’m really not, but I know it must look that way sometimes. So, thank you for reading and adding hope to my day. 🙂

  1. Who could tired of your prose? What a reminder to never stop praying. I often forget that trials (for others) are still going on while my life continues. It can be easy for me to encourage or pray for someone, but persisting in these can be a challenge. We are often thinking of you guys and the girls really want to get together whenever you make it back. You are all missed dearly!

  2. Pingback: Thankfulness Journal – Day 13 – Days Like These | Jemelene

Comments are closed.