Day 8: King of Kings

Image found at mackeymitchell.com

“Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. Consequently, he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves. For rulers hold no terror for those who do right, but for those who do wrong. Do you want to be free from fear of the one in authority? Then do what is right and he will commend you. For he is God’s servant to do you good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for he does not bear the sword for nothing. He is God’s servant, an agent of wrath to bring punishment on the wrongdoer. Therefore, it is necessary to submit to the authorities, not only because of possible punishment but also because of conscience. This is also why you pay taxes, for the authorities are God’s servants, who give their full time to governing.” ~Romans 13:1-6 (NIV)

No matter who “wins” elections here, it is God who reigns, and chooses the authorities put in place over nations. I will not pretend to guess his reasons, but I find myself having to decide whether I believe God is sovereign, or he is not.

I choose to believe that he is, and that I can trust him with the fate of our nation. The above passage was written during the reign of Emperor Nero, and these instructions were written to those Nero was hunting down and persecuting. If those Christians could obey the word of God under a despot like Nero, I’m pretty sure I can submit to the authority of a country still free.

I am thankful for God’s sovereignty today.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

3 thoughts on “Day 8: King of Kings

  1. This did not surprise our God did it? “I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep what I have committed to Him until that Day” 2 Timothy 1:12
    I’m so glad to know He loves us!

Comments are closed.