Day 7: Election Fiasco of a Personal Nature

I discovered, the hard way, that I should have researched my voting options better. Not knowing I would be in Oregon, instead of Colorado, on election day, I didn’t know that I needed to request a mail-in ballot from Colorado.

I also found out that unless I had come here THIS WEEK because of my Dad’s terminal illness, I had no chance of even applying for an emergency ballot.

I am heartily ashamed to admit that I did not get to vote this year, and I do not want to lie by omission, and leave the impression with anyone that I did. All because I didn’t start researching what I needed to do in time. I assumed, foolishly, that even though Oregon is a mail-in state, they may still have a few polling places for non-Oregon residents in the state at the time. They do not.

I am without excuse. I should have been more diligent and timely in my research. I am hesitant to even post this.

I apologize to all the men and women in uniform, and their families, who have worked so hard and sacrificed so much, only to have someone like me let the ball drop in such an unworthy manner.

Yet, I can still be thankful that you can avoid this mistake, and LEARN FROM ME. Don’t procrastinate.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

