30 Days of Thanksgiving: It’s Always Been You

Sometimes, as a blogger, I feel incredibly lost in the Great Wide Interwebz.

I cannot count the number of times I have stopped reading a blog because it was too good. It was too much what I want to be, and am not, that I just felt all lame. And stuff.

It isn’t because of their writing style – I know my own voice well, and prefer to use it. It isn’t because of the overall look and feel of their space on the web – I like my little free WordPress template. It isn’t their perfect grammar, their way with words, or their incessant, deeper-than-the-ocean witticisms. It’s not their plethora of topics, prowess with hot glue, or gorgeous photography that turned me away.

I am not the jealous type. (Oh dear, my pants just caught on fire. Hold on. Be right back.)

Okay. Where was I? Oh yes.

It was one thing, if I boil it all down to brass tacks, that made me stop reading them. (Who boils tacks? And why would I use such a phrase?)

It was their audience. Plain and simple. The vast, teeming multitudes of followers.

Image found at heathercarson.net


However, I have since learned that, in all honesty, I like my cozy little nook over here. I may not have teeming multitudes, but I have you.

I have you.

Most likely, I know you in the Real World. If I don’t, I am positive I will, soon enough. Either way, each one of you has come to represent Encouragement to me. I may not have hundreds of comments, but I have your words of encouragement.

It is you who have reached out to me and loved me. It is you who have reached out and accepted my blog, and therefore, me, for who I am.

I often say that, “I write for myself, because it makes me happy.” While that is mostly true, I also write for you, dear readers! I write to encourage, to inspire, to make you laugh, or cry, or to somehow leave your world a little brighter than it was this morning.

Guess what? I adore every comment. Every. Single. One.

It is for you that I do this. It is for you that I edit, re-read, and get my fingers moving. It is you whom I have in mind as I type. It is how my writing will affect you that I think about.

It’s always been you.

So, today, I am thankful for each and every one of you who read this. Even if you never say a word. I love knowing that you come by, and take the time out of your busy-enough-already life, and choose to spend a few minutes here, at The Faery Inn, to read whatever drivel has spilled out of my brain on a highly irregular basis.

It is for you that I need to keep writing. It is for you that I need to treat you as the treasures you are, and give you something as often as I can.

The fact that writing is as good as any therapy for me, is icing on the cake. Cool-Whip and Heath Bars on top of my Better-Than-Sex cake, actually.

Thank you for continuing to come back, no matter what rigamarole you may find here. It tells me that you like this little blog of mine, because I’m me. And that is an awful lot for me to be thankful for.

Seriously – if you are reading this, this post was for you. You are truly precious to me, and even if you were the only reader I had left, I’d keep writing. Just for you. Because you are awesome.

Thank you.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

6 thoughts on “30 Days of Thanksgiving: It’s Always Been You

  1. I miss you when you are quiet. Your wisdom, courage and Jesus-loving soul give me plenty to think about. It’s like I get the pleasure of taking a walk with you while I listen to your heart. Thank you for writing for me.

  2. NO PRESSURE! πŸ˜†
    But just seeing half of your face in the “like” section of my blog does the same thing for me. πŸ™‚
    And although I cannot eat Cool Whip, you are the guacamole on top of my nachos!!!! πŸ˜‰
    ❀ K

Comments are closed.