30 Days of Thanksgiving: Being an Auntie.

Inspired by a friend, I thought it would be a good idea for me to try and get back into the habit of writing daily. I need the focus, as my brain doesn’t do well when I wait too long to write. I thought that spending the next 30 days coming up with something I’m thankful for everyday would be a good way to do it. So, without further ado: 30 Days of Thanksgiving.

I love being an auntie. It’s awesome.

My sisters’ children are precious, unique, and delightful. One of them never stops smiling. The other makes me work for it, but when he rewards me, it was worth the effort.

I am so thankful for the chance to speak into the lives of my niece and nephew here in Oregon. So thankful that I can be in the circle of people they can grow up trusting to always be there.
I am thankful for the unique things they have each taught me. For the unique experiences each has given me, so distinct from my own children.

I am thankful for my Texas niece and nephews, whom I hope to know better, eventually. I am thankful that I can watch them grow up via pictures and videos, so I can love and pray for them from where I am.

I am thankful that I am close with their mother, and that I can be her partner in prayer for them. They are each so very precious. Like my own children, they have their own loves, hates, and tastes.

They have their own plans, hopes, and dreams. They interact differently with the world than my kids, and this is what makes being an auntie so much fun! I get to enter a different world when I’m with my nieces or nephews. It brings me new perspective, and makes me a better mother.

Nieces and nephews give me the chance to bless my sisters and my sister-in-law by loving their children. There is truly nothing a mother loves more than to see her children surrounded by love from all quarters.

I know I have great memories of all my own aunties and how much fun I had when I was with them. I can only hope that my own nieces and nephews look back at their memories of me and smile.

I am grateful to be an auntie. I always will be.

What are you thankful for today?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

3 thoughts on “30 Days of Thanksgiving: Being an Auntie.

  1. I love my nieces and nephew too! They are priceless! Praying that the Lord will give you even more nieces and nephews to love on soon! 😉

Comments are closed.