Update on My Dad: Mom’s Point of View

Image found via Google Images at shawnathibert.blogspot.com

This went out on the email list a few days ago, and I wanted to share it here. Mom’s bright, sunshiny voice just needs to be heard. Plus, it proves I’m her daughter. Almost everything I am comes from my mother. (No offense, Daddy! Remember, I did get your big pores and oily skin! Teehee.)

Good Morning To All,

Well, another week is disappearing, the leaves are turning a dead color. I miss the vibrant colors that are usually here this time of year! It is absolutely my favoritest time of year!! I’m blessed to be walking this path, at this time….I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Yesterday, my daughters and I went to Taylor’s Mortuary to finalize the “stuff”. I wish I could say we acted dignified, and grief stricken….but…we…didn’t…we had…fun…we laughed…we made jokes…we turned it into a joyful memory that we will carry with us till the end of time. The gentleman who helped us told us we made his day, after I apologized for the “fun” we were having. I’m new to all of this, never having walked this road, so please don’t judge me. I am trying the best I can to make the last few weeks, joyful for us all. It’s a very heavy burden.

I won’t tell you what will be on his headstone, it’s a secret until it is put on the grave site. Next week we go and pick out a plot….hope we can make it joyful also.

Daron has had up and down days. Yesterday was a good day, he didn’t feel nauseous, he ate, and watched Tischel while we were at Taylors. The hospice nurse came and his heart rate is down, but his blood pressure is up, talk about a roller coaster.

Life goes on, each of us take each day as it comes and deal with the things that come with it. The world moves on, not realizing the pain we are in, and the smiles sometimes are not as happy as we would like but it’s the best we can do at that time.

I love having my daughters here keeping me in the day, as we try and have each day as normal as possible for the grandkids. I think for the most part, we are doing pretty darn good. Life is good, God is great, and we are taking it one day at a time.

So, just for today, I will be blessed in knowing that God is here in the now, but more importantly, he’s already in tomorrow…and my burden is lifted just a little.

Have a wonderful day!
Tonya

Silliness is our medicine right now. Humor, our tower. Laughter is our close companion, and giggles sustain us. We are just laughing at everything that we face, because it hurts too much to do anything else.

Hey – whatever works, right?

What trial are you learning to laugh at this week?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

4 thoughts on “Update on My Dad: Mom’s Point of View

  1. Big disagreement with dear friends. We’ve started jokingly calling each other by derogatory terms for our ideologies. And it helps to laugh with each other, since there is precious little else we agree on, right now, and we still love each other.

    • Much love to you, and thanks for sharing this. Love (and a good sense of humor) cover a multitude of sins. šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.